We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!!”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing service!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thank you to our lovely hosts, Graham and Joyce for a lovely stay! We were there for a business trip and they made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible! The decor was done so beautifully and modern. The room was already heated up when we arrived in the evening! The rooms are very spacious and we had a beautiful view of The Heads! The host and hostess made our stay very homely and they were very kind to help us with directions. I will definitely return to Candlewood Lodge in the near future for business and vacation! Highly recommended to all!! Thank you Joyce and Graham!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    42
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
407
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lovely warm and homely environment with a very hospitable couple to make your stay worth while, and rooms with an awesome view of the Knysna lagoon and heads. everything is decorated in absolute style and class and you have everything you need in one room.

Room Tip: One of the upstairs rooms are the best - Sand, Sea or Sky as these have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked into the SAND room for 3 nights. Chris was there to meet us and showed us our beautiful balcony room.

The views from the balcony were fantastic and wow what a spacious Room and Bathroom we could have held a party in the shower. The evening sunset around the sparkling pool we will never forget.

The friendly staff cooked a perfect Breakfast and Chris advised us on all the places to see and things to do in the Knysna area.

We had such a great stay thank you Chris and his team.

Room Tip: The upstairs air-conditioned balcony rooms have fantastic views across the Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My brother and I stayed in Candlewood Lodge for 3 nights. The view from our balcony was stunning, the breakfast was awesome, and most importantly Graham and Joyce will take some time off from their busy schedule to talk to you and assist you in planning for your trip around Knysna!

Tips:
1. Try to arrange your arrival time as Graham and Joyce may not be around when you ring the door bell.
2. Try the Bungy Jump as soon as you see the weather is clear. DO NOT WAIT FOR TOMORROW! When you reach there and you're NOT so sure if you want to jump, you can opt for the bridge walk. Most likely you will end up jumping for the bridge - thanks to the loud music and persuasive crew and of course, the visual stimulation from seeing people jumping!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having arrived at dusk & promptly set off the alarm Chris assured us it was his fault, what a gent.
Our first floor room was just lovely and the outlook in the morning was stunning. The staff were most attentive and produced a fine breakfast. Chris was most helpful and made us feel at home with some useful suggestions for meals at The Waterfront. What great value for us Brits, the Dry Dock was great with excellent service &, as ever, great South African wines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family planned a roadtrip in which we spent a fair amount of hours on the road and we all at some stage just wanted to checkl-in and freshen up before we reached our final destination in Plett. From the onset once arriving at the lodge, we were greeted by a wonderful housekeeper, Anna, who showed us to our rooms and allowed us space to breathe.

We were situated along the west side of the house (sun room etc) and it was a perfect spot to allow for a braai and a well deserved dip in the 39 degree jacuzzi. We were hosted by Chris, the son of the owners who paid particular attention in trying to get to know us as guests and made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable and that we were happy.

The neighbourhood is quiet and the view onto the bay or wetland area is the perfect landscape to gaze onto when waking for breakfast and getting started with your day. I would recommend the lodge to all my friends for the simple convenience of being able to enjoy home luxuries without any effort and at a reasonable price

Room Tip: The SUN room is aptly named as i believe it catches the best light of all the rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

While Joyce and Graham were holidaying we had the pleasure of being welcomed by their son who was holding the fort. What an amazing experience and home away from home environment. If you are looking for that place to feel at home while having the experience of the friendly staff and amazing views this is the place to be. Will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizelda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#2 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing