We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing guest house!!!”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“What an amazing guest house!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently spent a weekend with my boyfriend in the Sand room upstairs in the lodge. The views are stunning from the room and balcony. The room has to be the cleanest and most pristine i have stayed in anywhere. Graham and Joyce were great and nothing was too much bother, i love the attention to detail when we said we were off to the beach they offered beach towels and an umbrella to us. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and made to order. i will definitley be back to Candlewood for another stay.

Room Tip: If you can go for the balcony rooms upstairs. Wow what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariskaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
413
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with Joyce and Graham back in October. A beautiful house, with stunning views, great hospitality, spotlessly clean and every amenity you could wish for. What a lovely gracious couple and we enjoyed chatting with them and learning more about the area. Breakfast was perfect, the normal fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and the option of a wonderful cooked meal if you so desired. Only shame was the rain, but unfortunately no one can control that. Would highly recommend to anyone if you are in Knysna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishgalinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We overnighted in Knysna when we drove the Garden Route on our honeymoon. We didn't make a reservation because we weren't sure where we would end up. We had read some TA reviews and had Candlewood Lodge as an option- so we just drove up around 6pm without a reservation.

Graham greeted us warmly at the door and showed us a beautiful room called "Sea" with views of the Knysna lagoon. When he learned that we were on our honeymoon he put a bottle of champagne on ice in the room for us. Graham and Joyce gave us great advice on attractions and restaurants in the area.

In the morning, they served a delicious breakfast and were very attentive. They called and arranged for us to go out in the lagoon on a catamaran to the Knysna heads, which was the highlight of our stay here.

We had a very comfortable night in a lovely room and we would stay here again if we ended up back in Knysna.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Sea" which had great views and a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thank you to Joyce & Graham for making us feel so welcome! A real home from home. The room was spotlessly with amazing decor, with amazing views over the island. We stayed here for 2 nights, but wished it was longer. The Lodge is in a very peaceful residential area, so a car is needed, very modern and spotless. The breakfast was delicious - done to your order, and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful! Knysna is also a little gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395lynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent rooms, very spacious, open balcony between rooms overlooking Knysna bay. Awesome breakfast, monkeys saying hi.
The location is very convenient to anyone taking the Garden Route in South Africa. Graham is very accommodating and knowledgable in listing local attractions and places to eat in and around the area.

Room Tip: Let Joyce or Graham know ahead your sleeping arrangements so they are prepared. They are very flexi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing stay in Candlewood Lodge! Joyce & Graham are wonderful hosts, they are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble! They are more than happy to give advise on all the best things to see and do in Knysna and the surrounding areas. I have had some of the best experiences of my life from riding an Elephant & Ostrich to Walking a Cheetah! The accommodation is spotless and beautifully decorated (I had an African themed room) with amazing views of the Knysna Lagoon, nothing better than watching the sun set with a glass of wine in hand! Beautifully cooked English Breakfast and a choice of fresh fruit and cereals every morning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Can't recommend Candlewood Lodge enough I will defiantly be back! Thank you Joyce & Graham for a truly wonderful stay :)

Emma xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

At first thanks a lot to Joyce and Graham for making our stay there unique! We felt very welcomed and comfortable from the first moment we arrived. Room Sand was nice, spacious, clean and had an amazing view over the Lagoon. So we watched the sunset drinking a good glass of Rustenberg wine. What we enjoyed most was listening to all the interesting stories Joyce told us while having breakfast...it was as just like meeting good old friends again...we would definitly recommend Candlewood Lodge for a perfect stay in Knysna!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#4 of 126 in Knysna
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing