We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose Candlewood Lodge based upon the Trip Advisor reviews and we echo everything that's been written. Joyce and Graham are great hosts with lots of stories and advice, spotless rooms, beautiful views from the room and balcony plus little extras that make the difference. When we asked if they could recommend a Township tour, they were straight on the phone and organised just what we were after with Emzini Tours.

Nice to see that the honesty bar is very reasonably priced and as everyone else has said, the breakfast was lovely.

Although we had a car to explore, the location, set back a little from the main road in a nice residential street is absolutely fine for anyone without a car and who wants to potter into the town centre.

We had a great stay here.

Ian, Katy, Ben and Lizzie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongthrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
414
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wow, where do I begin, we decided to head towards the Garden Route for our honeymoon! We were very welcomed by hosts Graham & Joyce! Joyce showed us the way to our room and shared information regarding activities for us to do during our stay! We woke up to beautiful views from our room and then filled our tummy with a yummy breakfast! Staff were always friendly! Graham and Joyce went out of their way to make us as comfortable as we could be. A home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCoutihno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at Candlewood Lodge while we were following our son's rugby team along the Garden Route. The hosts were very welcoming, the views over Knysna Lagoon were stunning and the rooms were immaculate. Although not in the centre of Knysna, the Lodge was an easy drive into town where there is plenty of parking. Graham and Joyce were very knowledgeable about local things to do; we could easily have spent many more days there. While visiting one local school for a rugby match we fell foul of the South African parking laws and received a ticket which as we were moving on was almost impossible for us to pay. Not only did Graham step in on our behalf to handle the matter while we continued with our holiday but he was able to negotiate with the Knysna Traffic Department to cancel the fine as a good will gesture to overseas visitors. Definitely service beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Joyce and Graham are hands on hosts who do their utmost to ensure the comfort of their guests. Our room had an exceptional view from the balcony and was immaculately clean. The guest house is slightly away from the main drag - the busy N2 - but so much the better for this. It is a short and easy drive to restaurants and attractions in town. Breakfasts were good..just a small suggestion/comment that it would be nice to avoid the individual plastic containers of butter and jam and go for some local fruit preserves such as gooseberry and youngberry. This is a small quibble - it is difficult to improve on near perfection! Overall a very comfortable stay with people who want you to enjoy your time in Knysna (and come back.....)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in the Sand Room at Candlewood Lodge for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Graham and Joyce are really lovely welcoming hosts and were full of useful information about trips and things to do. The room was immaculate and had beautiful views out over the lagoon (or estuary as we’ve been told!). Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Free Wi-Fi was provided. It’s a short drive down to the harbour which has several nice bars and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sand room was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becka_Calv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the minute we arrived and were given a cold beer we knew we were in for a great stay. Our airconditioned room Sky with its balocny was stunning with great views across the Lagoon to the heads. Breakfast was to die for with so much choice. Joyce was so helpful with all the local information and even booked trips for us. Thank you both for a great stay at Candlewood

Room Tip: Our balcony airconditioned room Sky was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted-patT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a great trip to Knysna during the winter. Chris gave us the support we required and recommended great places to go. The room and breakfast were excellent and we also had some DVDs to keep our 3 year old daughter busy :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brazil_In_Pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing