We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, brilliant hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, brilliant hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in the Sand Room at Candlewood Lodge for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Graham and Joyce are really lovely welcoming hosts and were full of useful information about trips and things to do. The room was immaculate and had beautiful views out over the lagoon (or estuary as we’ve been told!). Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Free Wi-Fi was provided. It’s a short drive down to the harbour which has several nice bars and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sand room was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becka_Calv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
384
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the minute we arrived and were given a cold beer we knew we were in for a great stay. Our airconditioned room Sky with its balocny was stunning with great views across the Lagoon to the heads. Breakfast was to die for with so much choice. Joyce was so helpful with all the local information and even booked trips for us. Thank you both for a great stay at Candlewood

Room Tip: Our balcony airconditioned room Sky was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted-patT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a great trip to Knysna during the winter. Chris gave us the support we required and recommended great places to go. The room and breakfast were excellent and we also had some DVDs to keep our 3 year old daughter busy :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brazil_In_Pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

WOW what a place, absolutely stunning!!! This statement pretty much sums up the Candelwood Lodge for us. Having spent the last 12 years holidaying in South Africa and travelling (mainly around the west and eastern Cape) we have stayed in the most salubrious hotels and guesthouses not to mention paying extortionate prices, however we finally found the place of our dreams, an absolutely 5 star throughout Guest House but NOT at a 5 star price!!! The Lodge is ran by Graham & Joyce (ex UK and we are not biased being from the UK!) who are just the most friendliest of folk who will bend over backwards to ensure your stay is just perfect. Their Rooms are just amazing, extremely spacious, a bathroom to die for and decorated to the highest and most tasteful and stylish standard. The French doors in your room open onto the balcony/patio where you can just sit and drink in the beautiful views over the Lagoon,simply stunning. The staff are all extremely professional and friendly and cook the most amazing breakfasts to suit all tastes. We had the pleasure of staying at Candlewood for two nights in April having driven from Cape Town, we had glorius weather and it was simply amazing to sink into their luxurious sun loungers set in their beautiful gardens, just a shame the pool was too cold for us to plunge into, just not brave enough! Both Graham & Joyce offer you an abundance of information of places to visit, things to see & do and fab restaurants around stunning Knynsa and surrounding areas, which really helped us. We had the most fantastic relaxed and chilled out stay at Candlewood with Graham & Joyce and would definitely recommend staying with them if you are ever visiting Knysna, you won't be disapppointed! Keep up the excellent work you do at Candlewood, you have it spot on!!

Elaine & David Plant
Leicester
UK

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sand Room - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenwood
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a perfect start to our holiday after 3 days in Capetown.

Candlewood Lodge was perfect and Joyce & Graham could not do enough for us

Our balcony room SAND was perfect and the view to die for thank you so much.

Room Tip: Balcony air-conditioned rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Candlewood was a wonderful end to our Garden Route travels. We stayed in Sand, which was a spacious room with incredible views of the harbor and the Heads. I could have sat in the large claw-footed tub for hours if there hadn't been so many things to see and do in Knysna (like the Elephant Preserve 20 mins away- breathtaking! you get to feed and walk in fields with the ellies; and the Feather Bed catamaran trip to the Heads and out into the Indian Ocean- stunning views). The house is located on top of a hill in a very pretty neighborhood just a few blocks from town, so it was really convenient. Graham and Joyce were away, but their son Chris welcomed us and gave some terrific restaurant recommendations- we had dinner at Cornuti's literally at the base of the Heads (get the line caught fish baked in foil- sooo moist), and a lovely sunny lunch at Sirocco on Thesen Island. My husband's trekking shoes somehow managed to disintegrate mid-trip, and Chris pointed us to a good outdoor shop where we found just what we needed. Anna's breakfast was yummy, and I spotted their cute "pet" monkey out on the patio. Lovely time, we highly recommend Candlewood.

Room Tip: We only saw our room (Sand) but really liked it, and this was an especially nice change after the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Brilliant stay! The best of everything and beautifully decorated rooms with great views. Hosts Graham and Joyce provided everything and made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped foot in the door. Also a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi, with gorgeous garden, never felt so relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing