We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and superb accommodation overlooking Knysna Lagoon”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here and would very highly recommend this B&B. The rooms are lovely with an awesome view, breakfasts are well cooked and fulfilling and the hosts are amazingly wonderful and helpful. It is easy to get to and central for many activities along the Garden Route. You couldn't get better value for the cost. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 643 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 Nights March 2012, Graham & Joyce are fantastic hosts, nothing too much trouble - we thank them for their generosity and friendship. Our room with Balcony (Sky) overlooked the Knysna Heads across the Lagoon, what more could you ask for! Spotlessly clean, Exc Breakfasts on the Terrace - Lovely Pool Area and beautiful Gardens, Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get a 1st Floor Balcony Room overlooking 'The Heads' - Highly Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

nice area around knysna. We would have stayed longer here.
We had a nice room, our company had even a better one with very nice view over knysna.
very friendly hosts.rooms where very nice,deluxe and clean.
Good breakfast, lot of choice.
good advice of fishrestaurant (can't remember the name...)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Lovely place, fantastic view from our bedroom (Sky) nice clean pool,good breakfasts.Owners Graham and Joyce were very helpful, Graham organised a round of golf for us at Pezula golf club with Clive, which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayWoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place was fantastic! Idealic location on the side of huge hill over looking the lagoon. Breathtaking views!

We came here on honeymoon and were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and sat and drank it in the hot tub overlooking the lagoon!

There was lots to do here- 5 minute drive from the waterfront where there's lovely restaurants and we sampled the famous oysters! Little shopping mall too if that's for you. 10 mins in the other direction and you are at the elephant sanctuary. Well worth a visit!

Food in Candlewood was lovely, good range for breakfast and ate on the little terrace. We even got visited but some wild cheeky monkeys which was fabulous! Candlewood was clean and the rooms were a good size, nice big shower. The only thing I would say is the sounds travel here.

The owners were lovely people who were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. However they were not intrusive in any way.

We really loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fosmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I just absolutely love coming to your lodge, home away from home. Not only does it feel like home, but Joyce goes out of her way to serve me a delicious homecooked meal served in Bone china.
And the rooms are spanking clean and the views are spectacular.
I'll keep coming back...

Room Tip: Each room has its uniqueness. Rather discuss your needs with the host and they'll refer to you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed at Candlewood Lodge for 3 nights in the spray room, it didn't have a view of Knysna as it was at the rear of the property but had a lovely patio area and was extremely spacious and we were free to use the outside seating areas at the front with the views. The owners Joyce and Graham were extremely friendly and welcoming and very knowledgable regarding things to do in the local area. The breakfasts were perfectly cooked and the staff very helpful. Altogether a spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodation and we enjoyed our visit to Knysna very much.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property have views over Knysna but our room 'Spray' at the rear w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa (hot tube). There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing