We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guinea Fowl Lodge - the best in all respects and truly memorable”
Review of Guinea Fowl Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Ranked #58 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed in the Lodge for five nights and had a well appointed room which was very comfortable, spacious, and decorated with taste. The hosts, Piet and Mart, were very hospitable and extended a very warm welcome to me which was sustained throughout my 5 day stay. I felt right at home, but a home with all the comforts of a hotel. The breakfasts, on the deck overlooking the Knysna Quay and the famous Knysna Heads, were delicious with a variety of fruits, cereals and a wholesome cooked meal on offer. i could eat breakfast at any time - either very early or later and it was served wiht equla grace everyday. If you go to Knysna you have to stay there not only for all the above reasons, but Piet also makes a great omelette!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2010

Mart and Pete, the owners of Guinea Fowl Lodge are exceptional hosts. We had a great time there and stayed for 3 nights. We were looking for more permanent accommodation in Knysna and Mart was extremely helpful and did everything she could to help us out, even making phone calls on our behalf. Pete regaled us with great stories of his days as a farmer in the Free State and chatted for ages with us after breakfast. The breakfast was great, and we would sit on their deck and admire the view of the heads from that wonderful vantage point. I would highly recommend Guinea Fowl Lodge if you are planning a trip to Knysna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Pete and mart made us feel extremely welcome, accomodation luxurious, breakfast was great, even for us non-meat eaters. Great advice as to what to do and see and extremely helpful. Just wish we'd had more time ...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed at the Guinea Fowl lodge about ten years ago when my husband and I did the Garden Route. When I was planning the holiday again this was the only place we said we had to stay at again. We arrived and had a warm welcome and the room we were allocated was gorgeous. Pretty big and really nicely furnished. There was lots of space for my daughter to stay in our room. The owners were absolutely lovely and really looked after us. The breakfast was great on the patio with a fabulous view. The price was also very reasonable. All in all I would highly recommend staying here. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

At the top of a steep hill (especially if you walk up), but in a pleasant position with a good view of Knysna and the bay from the breakfast room. Mart and Peter really provide an excellent breakfast (arguably the best we had in 3 weeks). The rooms are rustic and comfortably furnished. Peter has a wealth of knowledge and information, and is a character! Mart has the birdlife eating out of her hands, literally, on a morning. Both are very helpful and have lots of ideas for visits and eating out etc. (The waterfront does have excellent restaurants)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed at Guinea Fowl Lodge for 3 nights with our 13 year old son. Breakfast was super, sitting outside, overlooking Knysna. Pete and Mart were always ready to give us valuable information about what to do with our day. They even introduced our son to the cheese eating Knysna birds. Lots of nice reststaurants and shops in easy walking distance.
The Gosling family UK

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in April 2008. Pete and Mart are great hosts and the rooms we had (we were a group and had 3 rooms total) were all very clean and well decorated. The room my wife and I stayed in was right off the driveway and was extremely spacious. There were two couches and two armchairs to sit in; a great room for all of us to gather and chat and reorganize all of our luggage for the trip back to the U.S.

The breakfast was great; fresh muffins (still warm) and the standard English breakfast (eggs, bacon/sasuage, mushrooms).

It would probably be a long walk to the waterfront area if you cared to try to hoof it, but it isn't out of the question. This guest house is about a block and a half off the main strip so the truck noise is out of earshot, a big advantage over the guesthouses closer to the main part of town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank daveespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
867 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
166 reviews
5.4 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
13.1 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guinea Fowl Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Fowl Lodge

Address: 13 Faure Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $77 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guinea Fowl Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing