We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Inn”
Review of Lagoona Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoona Inn
Ranked #102 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Quirky Inn”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an interesting place. The room we had was on many levels - there was step up to the room at the door followed by a downward slope it the room (weird). The room did have a large balcony and spectacular views of the lagoon. There are tea and coffee making facilities on the large landing that had comfy sofas to lounge on. The place itself is dated - sort of charming in a quirky way! It was a pleasant half hour walk into Kynsna waterfront along the lagoon. Breakfast was good although the bacon appeared to be rationed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

With one of the best views in Knysna overlooking the lagoon. Rooms are adequate and functually clean. With personal service from friendly staff and management you always feel welcome and at home. They cater for business and holiday travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located overlooking the lagoon, the Laguna was a friendly place to stay.

The rooms were a little dated and could do with updating. There was a desk, at a strange angle, as you entered the room, which amused us!? That said it was a large room, clean and comfortable. The balcony was spacious, separated from the next room by a large plant pot. The road separated the hotel from the lagoon, so it was a little noisy in the evening, but great for watching the sunsetting over the lagoon.

Shared tea & coffee making facilities were available in the hallway. We would recommend going into town for a meal in the evening. The hotel does have a restaurant, but our experience of the food in town was much better.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damselflyspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were referred to Lagoona in by a B&B we called down the street which was full. Alison & Gunther were absolutely wonderful - welcoming from the moment we called to the day we checked out.

When we pulled up, I thought "Oh no! A motel!" But it didn't feel like one at all... As others have said, the rooms, etc. can probably use a facelift, but it still felt inviting and homey. And most important to me - the bathroom was clean & the shower was great. Our room was very spacious with two double beds & a balcony overlooking the lagoon. There was traffic outside but with the door closed it wasn't too bad, and that's what you get for the view...

The breakfast was excellent & plentiful, and the staff were all wonderful and accommodating - appearing within moments to offer us coffee, etc.

Lagoona in is not a 5* hotel, and doesn't pretend to be. But for a warm & welcoming stay at a good price, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony & view of lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a few buildings and is quite sprawling. Our room was ok but quite jaded and needs a makeover really. The food and service was very good as was the service. A little too far out of the centre but had the benefit of overlooking the Lagoon and has a real ale pub around the corner.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a group tour with 10 others. Our party of 11 was split across various parts of this hotel and the adjacent properties. My room was in what felt like someone's house (complete with a for sale sign outside and family photo's on the walls), the house had 3 bedrooms, one en-suite. This was not really what I was expecting. The bathroom had just a bath but no shower so all 3 of us had to use the shower in the en-suite which is not ideal. Having said that breakfast in the hotel was very nice and the owners were also friendly and helpful. The location was OK, an easy 1 km walk into town along a pleasent boardwalk alongside the lagoon, although I wouldn't have wanted to do this walk after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice bed and breakfast. Good views from balcony. Very good breakfast and good rooms Hosts helpful..Good location as it is possible to walk into town. Rooms clean and comfortable and wifi available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 13 in Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.0 mi away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#2 of 5 in Rheenendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoona Inn

Property: Lagoona Inn
Address: 22a Dikkop Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoona Inn is ideally situated in the picturesque town of Knysna in the Garden Route, South Africa. The ambiance is a unique international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. Every one of our bedrooms and apartments enjoys spectacular panoramic views of the mysterious beauty of Knysna. Accommodation is modern, en-suite, with sliding doors and sun shutters which open onto your private balcony or garden frontage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing