We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving...”
Review of Lagoona Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoona Inn
Ranked #79 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were referred to Lagoona in by a B&B we called down the street which was full. Alison & Gunther were absolutely wonderful - welcoming from the moment we called to the day we checked out.

When we pulled up, I thought "Oh no! A motel!" But it didn't feel like one at all... As others have said, the rooms, etc. can probably use a facelift, but it still felt inviting and homey. And most important to me - the bathroom was clean & the shower was great. Our room was very spacious with two double beds & a balcony overlooking the lagoon. There was traffic outside but with the door closed it wasn't too bad, and that's what you get for the view...

The breakfast was excellent & plentiful, and the staff were all wonderful and accommodating - appearing within moments to offer us coffee, etc.

Lagoona in is not a 5* hotel, and doesn't pretend to be. But for a warm & welcoming stay at a good price, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony & view of lagoon.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Lagoona Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has a few buildings and is quite sprawling. Our room was ok but quite jaded and needs a makeover really. The food and service was very good as was the service. A little too far out of the centre but had the benefit of overlooking the Lagoon and has a real ale pub around the corner.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a group tour with 10 others. Our party of 11 was split across various parts of this hotel and the adjacent properties. My room was in what felt like someone's house (complete with a for sale sign outside and family photo's on the walls), the house had 3 bedrooms, one en-suite. This was not really what I was expecting. The bathroom had just a bath but no shower so all 3 of us had to use the shower in the en-suite which is not ideal. Having said that breakfast in the hotel was very nice and the owners were also friendly and helpful. The location was OK, an easy 1 km walk into town along a pleasent boardwalk alongside the lagoon, although I wouldn't have wanted to do this walk after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice bed and breakfast. Good views from balcony. Very good breakfast and good rooms Hosts helpful..Good location as it is possible to walk into town. Rooms clean and comfortable and wifi available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Firstly, we must say that the owners, Alison and Gunther, were superb, model hosts. Their welcome was very warm and the breakfasts they provided were legendary! We would say that perhaps the place is geting a little tired - though it was scrupulously clean - and could perhaps do with a bit of an update. There was also some noise from the busy road between the guesthouse on the lagoon. Other than that, no problems at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lagoon if you're troubled by road noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very comfortable rooms whether on holiday with the whole family or just an overnight on business in the Garden Route

Very friendly service and great food in a stunning setting .

Will deffinitely go again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonoraBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during a tour of The Garden Route. Quite spacious rooms with an unusual shower.
We were made very welcome by the owner and his wife. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
817.1 mi away
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Timbavati Safari Lodge
#21 of 104 in Hoedspruit
230 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
6.9 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoona Inn

Address: 22a Dikkop Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoona Inn is ideally situated in the picturesque town of Knysna in the Garden Route, South Africa. The ambiance is a unique international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. Every one of our bedrooms and apartments enjoys spectacular panoramic views of the mysterious beauty of Knysna. Accommodation is modern, en-suite, with sliding doors and sun shutters which open onto your private balcony or garden frontage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing