We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super affrodable accommodation in Knysna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lagoona Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoona Inn
Ranked #101 of 125 Knysna B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super affrodable accommodation in Knysna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very comfortable rooms whether on holiday with the whole family or just an overnight on business in the Garden Route

Very friendly service and great food in a stunning setting .

Will deffinitely go again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonoraBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during a tour of The Garden Route. Quite spacious rooms with an unusual shower.
We were made very welcome by the owner and his wife. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Decent appointed room with two double beds which was welcome as we have two children under ten. Unfortunately there was just one small radiator which made the room cold at night as it was winter. Beyond this the room was very nice.

The kids had a great time as the room lead directly out to the garden where they were able to play around freely - would probably be wonderful in summer. We were staying as part of a tour group (so cant comment on cost/value for money of room) and were happy that they had a laundry service at a very reasonable SAR80 per machine load folded and delivered to the room. Breakfast was good with a good selection of foods

Make sure to take a walk across George Cross Drive and along the waterfront to the Knysna Waterfront buildings. It takes about 20 minutes but is well worth it

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have garden access but 1st floor gets good lagoon views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

After driving around knysna looking for a suitable place to stay we found lagoona - excellent value, very friendly owner, delicious breakfast - overall a very enjoyable stay for 1 night! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hersha87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We spent 3 days with Alison and Gunther recently and it was marvellous. Most hospitable couple with a great knowledge of the area. Knysna itself on the garden route is well worth a stay of 2 - 3 days to get the ambience of the area. Must do's are a boat trip round the lagoon. A trip round the Heads. Also on Gunther's advice we went round the 'other' side of the lagoon on the George side and found the most marvellous little paradise called 'Belvedere' the small church there is a 'must see'. A trip to George to visit the train museum is also something to consider. The old trains of the steam era and the Royal coaches in the museum are well worth a look at. Mossel Bay just half an hour away is one of the most picturesque places we have seen. Bosun's restaruant just 5 minutes walk has an ambience all of it's own and excellent food. At night you can sit on the verandah and listen to the frogs across the road in the lagoon having conversation. We will return....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Nice. friendly family-run inn with good sea views and comfortable rooms. Stayed as part of a tour group and this hotel more than served our needs. Probably would choose something a bit more upmarket if we'd been travelling independently, but no real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WearytravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 13 in Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoona Inn

Property: Lagoona Inn
Address: 22a Dikkop Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoona Inn is ideally situated in the picturesque town of Knysna in the Garden Route, South Africa. The ambiance is a unique international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. Every one of our bedrooms and apartments enjoys spectacular panoramic views of the mysterious beauty of Knysna. Accommodation is modern, en-suite, with sliding doors and sun shutters which open onto your private balcony or garden frontage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing