We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for exploring the Garden Route”
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #52 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Marion & David are fantastic hosts in every way. The rooms are very comfortable with much love to the little things which make a stay convenient - and you get interesting recommendations where to eat, dring and do sightseeing.
Always again ;o)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinomiteGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 136 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by David and Marion
that it made are stay at Knysna 'really special'. From the welcome drinks on your deck
and the warm, natural greeting you both made us feel very special and very at home in your lovely property. We have stayed nearby last year and our time with you was just one week of our month long adventure in South Africa. You are both a credit to the B&B
concept and when we next return we will hopefully meet again.
Bob & Jane Ward

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jte43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

we arrived at armadillo to a warm welcome from david and marion. we were shown our studio which was well equipped with everything you needed after a long drive (including wine) we were invited for a drink on the deck with marion and david who gave us advise on where to eat on our two night stay in knysna. marion even reserved our tables for us and the second night we all dined together with davids brother john who was visiting at the time a very enjoyable evening.
our two night stay was exellent and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

What can we say? We stayed with Marion and David in the aprtment for a whole month. These guys have it spot on. The place is clean, tidy and well kept. The garden is lovely too. They made us feel very welcome and go out of their way to make you feel at home and provide lots of tit bits of info to help. However, they don't ina nay way "push" you. If you want a quite rlexing time then they leave you alone. If you want a laugh and few drinks then great - especially if its by the open fire outside - a lovely way to spend Xmas/New Year.
Marion even bought "tailored" - ((by this I mean gvien some thought to what they would like) Christmas presents for us and other guests.
I was slightly ill during the stay and MArion secured my a doctors appointment within 3 hours just before Christmas. I was treated the same day and this prevented a potentially dangerous situation.
Armadillo might not have the best vista in Knysna BUT it is made up for by the welcome you get. This is a 5 start establishment (as these reviews will testify). Keep it up guys - we'll see you again.....Maybe I'll get some decent photos like yours next time David...

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank malcandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My sister and I stayed in Knysna in the Armadillo Studios. We booked studio 3 which has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a fully equiped kitchen. Marion and David made our stay a perfect one, they invited us for a drink and gave us all the tips on sightseeing and other information. They love having people from all over the world to stay in their house, so they are the perfect hosts!

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank kittyvdheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

A real gem of a place to stay. Went to Knysna for the Oyster festival and to run the Knysna half marathon. Though not situated in the town, it is conveniently placed so that it is easy to reach all places of interest, though you will need your own transport to get around. The rooms are situated in a very tranquil garden. The hosts Marion and Dave go out of their way to help you. Being the middle of winter we had a problem with our hot water and they ensured that there was somewhere for us to shower. They kindly moved us to a much larger room at no extra cost and at the end of our stay gave us a discounted price for the inconvenience caused. It is hosts like these that will ensure the success of their business. I definately would recommend Armadillo Studios to all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeliaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Wow what a place this is. If you are thinking of going to Knysna stay here!! We emailed Marion when we were looking for some accommodation prior to leaving the UK and she was so helpful and chatty on her emails that it gave you the confidence to book. We were thinking about staying in the town centre (this is only 5-10 min drive from the Armadillo), but we definitely made the right decision. Upon arrival Marion had put a sign welcoming us and when we went inside it was like arriving home! Marion and David made us feel very welcome and after showing us to our room (which had a bottle of bubbly in as it was our honeymoon). They then invited us for a braai with the other guests, but only if we wanted to. We didn't feel obliged in the slightest, but as we already hit it off we went down to the local Spar for some goodies and then had some good food, beer and wine with our hosts! What a good night, such a laugh! The accommodation is fantastic. We had a studio (there are only 3 so it is quiet) with a double bed, sofa, flat screen tv, cd player with a choice of cd's, honesty bar (which is a fridge full of beer, water and wine along with soft drinks), fantastic bathroom with separate loo. Marion and David really have thought of everything, they even provide you with complimentary milk, butter, jam etc. The pool area is very inviting and they gardens are very well kept and the owners really encourage the birdlife. Watch out for the Knysna Lourie, it is stunning! The owners were also very helpful in offering advice and ideas of what to do in the area. Marion is a keen golfer and the accommodation is really close to a golf course. David is a photographer and also offers photography courses to suit any level. We loved this place and stayed 3 nights, but could have stayed a lot longer as there is so much to do in the area. Oh my husband was very happy with having Mitchell's brewery round the corner!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaunMc263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
19.8 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.4 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $67 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Armadillo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing