We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #37 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had 5 days at the beginning of March.We had planned to be self sufficient but after one breakfast, forgot that idea and just enjoyed the excellence and variety of Marion and David's morning presentations.The location is good for the town of Knysna and nearby golf courses . The rooms are clean and bright and the pool and garden amenities well maintained.
Marion and David were superb, and very helpful with advice on local attractions and amenities.We would certainly return on any susequent trip to Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
What a great review - thank you so very much. It was lovely getting to know you both & share a nice round of golf. Most of all, we were impressed with your wide knowledge of the varied birdlife in this part of the world and so glad you enjoyed your trip to Birds of Eden in Plett. Hope we can welcome you back as Armadillo Amigos one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
97
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Sadly we'll be leaving today to head for lunch in Swellendam followed by 5 days in Hermanus. The past 6 days have just flown by in this very special place.

We have stayed in Room 3 which benefits from a huge open plan fully fitted kitchen & lounge, as well as 2 bedrooms & bathrooms. The beautiful garden with pool, lapa & braai area is a wonderful place in which to while away the warm, sunny days & evenings. Fortunately while we've been here the other guests are golfers so we've had the place to ourselves.

Marion kindly held a braai for the guests on Monday evening which served as a great ice breaker. The food, wine & conversation flowed easily (hic)! Nothing is too much trouble for our hosts & things happen before you ask.

This is a very special place, we'll be back. Thank you Marion & David.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
What a super review! Thanks so much. We really enjoyed getting to know you & hope to see you back at the Armadillo one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Marion & David were superb hosts for our week in Knysna and their accommodation, garden and pool area were a delight to return to after our days of golfing and touring in the area. The layout of the Guest House is quite unique in affording guests as much privacy or sociability as they wish.
My only regret is that Armadillo Studios are so far away from home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 537AlanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks a million for your kind words. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed staying at the Armadillo so much. We certainly enjoyed your company & your appreciation of the wonderful golf courses round here! Yes, we're a long way from Edinburgh but we'd love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our long anticipated return to Armadillo Studios for 5 nights in November 2012 resulted in a 4 week stay due to a medical emergency. I cannot imagine a better place to have been during that stressful time. Marion and David are welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. The studios are clean, spacious and extremely well equipped with a flavour of Africa in the decor and colour scheme. The garden is superb and between hospital visits I spent many hours by the lovely pool surrounded by flowering shrubs and indigenous plants watching the varied bird life. Armadillo is well situated in a quiet area of Knysna, just a short drive to the spectacular Heads, shopping mall, golf courses and the many attractions in the area. We cannot wait to return, amongst other things to enjoy an Armadillo special for breakfast on the upstairs terrace with its views towards the Heads. Jenny & Geoff UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from three nights at this most relaxing property. We had Studio 2 which was clean, comfortable, spacious and had a pleasant patio area. There is a delightful pool and deck set in a beautifully laid out garden where you can unwind. Microwave and refrigerator added to the flexibility of the accommodation. The property is located between the town and Heads in a quiet residential area which appears to be very safe and secure.
Marion and David have done a great job renovating the property. They were excellent hosts and great conversationalists. The breakfast choices were first rate. The whole experience was excellent and when we return to Knysna we will stay, hopefully for longer.

Room Tip: The three rooms are on the same level with just a step up to the room and the same level as the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadillostudios, Manager at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Gosh, what a lovely review - it has made our day! Thanks for your many complimentary remarks. David & I really enjoyed your company - especially the many chats & much laughter we shared at breakfast-time...and over a sunny Sunday afternoon glass of wine or two! You are truly Armadillo Amigos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish it could have been longer than the 3 days we booked. To have received us so warmly on Christmas Day when everyone else was shut down was kindness itself -fantastic! You even provided us with some Christmas presents to enjoy, so thank you so much for your kindness.

We found Armadillo 'top notch'. The accommodation and surrounds were superb and represented brilliant value. We loved returning to Armadillo from the great activities and restaurants Knysna offers to rest or swim in the loveliest of swimming pools. The gardens are an absolute picture with carefully thought out areas to sit in sun or shade and enjoy. What a treat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All 3 studios are unique and of the higest of standards with views onto the garden and pool. They f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so grateful for this wonderful review and are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas visit to the Armadillo so much. When we have such lovely guests as yourselves the 'season of goodwill' lasts all year round! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Thanks a lot to Marion and David for being our hosts for three nights on our honeymoon. The Armadillo Studios have simply been great. The rooms was really very big, a nice kitchenette, lots of storage spots, very clean and nice big bathroom and the bed was great as well, since it was not so soft.

The garden and the pool area is just a dream! So many nice flowers, everything is clean and very high quality. The two hosts were always helping out, giving reco for several activities, restaurants and so on. So if you stay in Knysna, you should definitely stay here.

It would just be great, if there was WIFI for free around. But since we were on our honeymoon, it was not too bad :) So thanks again and see u soon :)

Daniela and Alex

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.0 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#19 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#7 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inyathi Guest Lodge
Inyathi Guest Lodge
#35 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#20 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Property: Armadillo Studios
Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Armadillo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing