We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Footprints of Knysna
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
“Heaven again”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Yet again I experienced a piece of heaven at the Forget Me Not self catering home. The views are stunning, the tranquillity peaceful, the rooms homely, fantastically clean, and offering all facilities required, plus the care given by the owner Mary makes it home from home, with the advantage of the sun ! I recommend you all to stay there, it will make your visit to South Africa that bit more satisfying. many thanks Mary for such an enjoyable stay. Love from Tricia in Belgium.

Room Tip: Studio Rose has 2 bathrooms-bath+WC and Shower +WC, plus terrace always with sun and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Good to have you again and so happy for your future plans. Kind regards. Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    41
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
78
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Forget-me-Not 2 years in a row and I already booked my next holiday with them.
We stayed in The Cabin, which is spacious enough for 4 people. The room is cleaned every morning and it's a total pleasure to stay there. We used the outside braai almost every day and after a day at the beach, we cooled off in the amazing swimming pool.
Forget-me-Not is walking distance from the lagoon, which is convenient for us, as we are very active people.
My brother and his wife came to visit for a day, and they fell in love with this place.
I would recommend Forget-me-not to anybody!!!!
The only thing that I would recommend is to take a fan, as there is no fan or aircon in the rooms.

Room Tip: The Cabin is the best for families, as it is on the bottom floor and has a deck that looks out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed in Knysna as part of my personal vacation, and immediately after stepping in to my room, "the rose" at forget-me-not, I was blown away by the view of Knysna stretching out to the 'heads'. Mary was a wonderful and very helpful host, and the location was perfect for me to have access to all that this little part of the world has to offer and still feel like I can 'holiday' away from all the busyness of Jozi. The room was incredibly comfortable, private and clean. A dip in the pool and some time in the sun was only a short trip down the stairs away and in a beautiful garden. You'll never find a shortage of things to do and will be spoiled for choice. Certainly worth 10/10!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kieran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed with Mary again in mid November and had a fabulous time. The location is excellent, easy access, near the Knysna centre, the Waterfront, The Mill, The Craggs and the excellent Plettenberg Game Park. Mary makes one so welcome and the self catering facility excellent. This year we visited The Heads and enjoyed the Featherbed nature reserve which is an excellent half day outdoor activity. All thoroughly recommended!!

Room Tip: The Nest is still the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble on Mary woolmington's delightful self catering establishment in the wonderfully named suburb of Old Place in Knysna,it has the most glorious views of the lagoon and heads,from very comfortable self contained apartments with all mod cons.
We had 4 great days and spent some time relaxing by the sparkling pool,
enjoying the sunshine ,views and the birds in the beautiful gardens.
We would recommend anyone to stay with Mary and explore the quaint old town of Knysna and the delights of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: would recommend the Cabin,has a great veranda with spectacular views and a barbecue and loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I travel allot in the Western Cape area and stayed at a number of places , but Forget me Not has so far exceeded all my expectations I enjoy the calm and tranquillity , The garden setting and the most amazing view by far , The welcoming I received from my first stay has bee excellent . I will always book my stay at Forget me Not , It feels more like home then my own houses .
Ten out of Ten overall

Room Tip: The "Nest" is the ideal room with all of the acquired amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you Jack. We look forward to seeing you again, and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Forget-Me-Not for a very pleasant relaxing week. We most enjoyed our meals on the balcony overlooking Knysna Lagoon. We were even allowed to bring our little poodle. A very hospitable establishment and a very friendly and helpful hostess.

Lutz N

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutz234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the review, appreciate your time. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#9 of 103 in Knysna
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#71 of 126 in Knysna
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
197 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints of Knysna

Property: Footprints of Knysna
Address: 21 Boekenhout Avenue | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly Forget-me-Not)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Footprints of Knysna 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint and quirky establishment with its sloping slate roof and dormer windows offers a relaxed 'home from home'. All accommodation has views of the garden, lagoon and Knysna Heads. Open, friendly and helpful owners on site. All units have full en-suite bathrooms, private decks with Braai and easy access to our large secluded garden and sparkling pool. Secure parking. Rooms serviced daily, DSTV and free WiFi. “Heads Up” – a spacious upper level apartment (2/3 sleeper) with amazing views; “Down to Earth” lower level apartment – Family room (4 sleeper) A practical and unpretentious family room an the cozy romantic "Featherbed Studio" double with kitchenette Footprints of Knysna is set away from the N2 highway in a quiet suburb, but located just a five minute drive from Knysna’s bustling town, vibrant waterfront, architect-inspired Thesen Harbour Town and peaceful Leisure Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Footprints of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing