We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strode House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Knysna a place where you have everything and miss nothing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy P
knysna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even though I have lived in Knysna over 30 years, Strode House made us fall in love with this town all over again with those exquisite views ,everywhere you look is pretty!!
We loved the house, décor is devine and the art is stunning..and we immediately felt at home after Martin and Vuvu's warm welcome.
A stay we will cherish forever,thank you Strode House xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Dear Tracy
Such an amazing write and an amazing review,
capturing the true essense of Strode House, a family home that was built to be enjoyed.
Reviews from guests are worth their weight in gold by ensuring us future business but more importantly it means that you, your family and friends loved their stay and for us that's what it's all about.

Kind Regards
Martin & Vuvu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdlucas41
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely & Unique!”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Martin was a wonderful host. He met us with bubbly and beers and we really loved our stay. We were not disappointed.

We shared the house with friends and there is a ton of space. Every bedroom has amazing views. It is a residential area, but just short drive to town and the waterfront. The pool and hot tub are a bonus and the kitchen and brai are amply supplied.

I recommend for anyone that needs space and wants to entertain. There is a fun little bar on the second floor including a picture from the Last Tango.

It will be a fun and memorable stay.

I can't go all the way to a 5, because a few things need a little maintenance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review they are worth their weight in Gold and will assist us with future business.

Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb_Trvl
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home away from home ”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Martin was wonderful greeting us and showing us the ins and outs of the house, so was his amazing housekeeper Vuvu. Bedrooms were huge all 4 and the heated pool and spa were well used !
The kitchen was lovely although we only utilised it a few times mostly for breakfast. We enjoyed the bar area upstairs and the view of the heads was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2016
Hi Barb
Thank you for your support we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
Great reviews are worth their weight in Gold and your review will assist us with future business, we thank you for this.

Martin Strode
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdileBlan...
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Strode House for three nights and visited Knysna and the surroundings.
Our short stay at Strode House was perfect. It's a very comfortable house with all we needed to feel as at home. The jaccuzzi was heated, an extra for winter,the beautiful pool so nice for summer vacations.The living areas are confortable and the American kitchen very nice, rooms confortable & bathroom good,
The owner,Martin, was very helpful, and made sure that we have all we needed. He was very caring. For example, we were eating biltong and he gave us some of his personal stock to taste, he provided us with everything we need and made our stay "memorable" If you visit Knysna with a family, the Strode House is what you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing to say
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Good Day
Thank you for this warming review we do appreciate you taking the time to engage with us and the public about your stay at Strode House
From Myself & Vuvu we thank you and welcome you again

Kind Regards
Martin Strode
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domtyler
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Cool house, great location”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Strode House for three nights, visiting various places in and around Knysna. We found it to be an excellent base to explore from, and the views were rather magnificent. We visited in winter, so the hot tub was a welcome addition, and I would imagine the pool is very pleasant in the summer. The bar was cool, and we ate dinner there one night, while the downstairs living area was very comfortable. Martin was always extremely helpful, making sure that we had everything we needed. For example, he provided extra gas for the heater in the living area to ensure we weren't cold. The beds were comfortable, and the shower okay. Be aware that there is no sign to the property, nor name on the house itself. It's number three, a large white house with two driveways. We would definitely recommend Strode House to anyone looking to stay in Knysna, especially for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable living area and jacuzzi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you for this informative review we really appreciate you taking the time to do it as they are worth their weight in gold when it comes to future business

I'm in the process of having a Strode House sign been fitted so I'm glad you mentioned it. Above all else I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Martin Strode
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazlie e
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just arrived back after spending five days at Strode House. The accommodation is classy, comfortable and has superb views, making it an ideal place to head back to after exploring the beautiful Knysna/Plett/Wilderness region during the day. Martin ensured that our every need was catered for together with his team of Vuvu and Paul who maintain the property without ever being intrusive.
Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that everything that was advertised was exactly as promised!
Liked least: That we had to leave!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Dear Nazlie
I would like to thank you and your family once again for selecting Strode House and for taking the time to review our property. I have always stated that reviews from guests that have stayed is worth it's weight in gold. It confirms the success of the stay and it encourages us to continue striving to be more and offer more to future clients.

From our team we thank you and welcome you again

Kind Regards
Martin Strode
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis T
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

4 friends used Strode House as a base for 3 nights and could not fault this accommodation. The house is beautifully presented and provided every comfort for our stay. We took full advantage of the pool and braai after exploring Knysna during the mornings ... a very relaxing base to return to. The house is extremely well equipped and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you, Martin, for welcoming us into your lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2016
Thank you for an outstanding review.
Reviews are worth their weight in gold so thank you for this.
In closing I'm glad you loved the house and remember you are always welcome at Strode House.

Kind Regards
Martin Strode
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing