We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Route Visit”
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #47 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at the house vor 3 nights, it is realy a nice place.
The double room we had was beautifull with his personal charm. The beds are comfortable.
We had exellent breakfast.
The house is close to the shopping mall and only a few minutes walk to the waterfront.
Brenda and Anthony are very hospitality. We enjoed the stay very much and felt like home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freak1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always good to know that Anthony and Brenda are looking after our guests and that your room was comfortable. Knysna Manor House is centrally located, so as you said is close to both the shops and the waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna in the not too distant future.
Regards
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

2011-02-02

The Manor House was an absolutely fantastic venue for our stay and base

I found the rooms pleasant, clean and comfortable

Our highlight was the breakfasts and scenic views from the wooden deck

What a lovely place to chill and relax !

Brenda and her hubby were so nice and friendly and this added to the touch of class in the Manor House and the dogs completed the picture

Many thanks for a wonderful stay

I will definitely use your guesthouse in the future when in Knysna

Highly recommended accomodation !!

Kind regards

Rowena and Arthur Joffe - Sea Point Cape Town

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytripperCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2011

Good Day Happy Tripper from Cape Town,

Firstly I am very happy that you so enjoyed your stay at our charming guesthouse. It is always great to receive reviews such as your. I must admit the views from the deck are wonderful. I am also glad to hear that Brenda and Anthony made you feel at home.

We do look forward to hosting you again in the near future/
Regards
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I stayed 3 nights at The Manor House and realised quickly why this place has had such positive reviews: it is down to the helpful, positive and friendly hosts Brenda and Anthony.
A lovely breakfast served outdoors with a view of the harbour after a comfortable night's sleep, helpful suggestions on the day's activities and all delivered with such friendliness...that's why.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Si90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2010

I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Knysna Manor House. I must agree, and have told Anthony and Brenda that they are the reason people keep on coming back to stay with us. Their personal interaction with guests is amazing. I am so greatful that we haveuch amazing Managers. We look forward to hosting you again at Knysna Manor House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Our stay at Knysna Manor House was very good. It was clean and comfortable with lots of character. The owners were friendly and helpful with any questions that we had. Two of our group enjoyed the pool in the early AM. The dogs were enchanting to have at the manor. They accommodated an extra person on the spur of our arrival by bringing in an extra bed. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindyrhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Thank you so much for your positive review. I know that Anthony and Brenda go out of their way to help the guests out and that it is appreciated by them. I am also thrilled to know that guests are usung the swimming pool. I know how refreshing the pol can be. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Knysna Manor House in the near future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Great location and friendly staff who made us fell very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bitten_Plesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind words. One thing that people can be assured of is Brenda and Anthony's friendliness. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My wife and myself really enjoyed our stay at Knysna Manor House. The room was ideal, the breakfasts marvelous, the view from the deck magnificent. The hosts very friendly. In fact we are going back for a long weekend sometime in March.



Regards, Johnny Jarman

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2010

Good evening Johnny,

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding Knysna Manor House. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves so much that you are returning next year. I am sure that Brenda and Anthony look forward to welcoming you again.

Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were here for 3 nights, and having spent time in other B & Bs, we felt a bit duped here. the photos on the website are far from what it is. While it is centrally located in terms of the shops and waterfront, the views are hardly to talk about .

Also the rooms are a bit shabby. The owners had some strict rules , about children not playing outside the room. Breakfast was served in small portions , fit for a kiddy meal.

Not defintely what i expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NitDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

I am so sorry that are guesthouse was not up to what you believed it would be. As you can see by our tripadvisor reviews, this is the first negative one that we have received, and therefore cannot understand your comments. Perhaps the rule about children playing outside of the bedrooms is because we have wooden floors, and they therefore make a lot of noise, and we have to respect the other guests. As for the breakfast, 99% of our guests find it quite adequate. I would like to know which website you booked through, so I can review the photographs and find out which ones are misleading.

Our guesthouse is over 100 years old, and we therefore follow the theme of an old building, but as to the rooms being shabby, I also find this unacceptable. I would like to know which room you stayed in so that I can investigate further.

If you would like to post further comments on tripadvisor, please feel welcome, or else you may email the guesthouse directly, and I will ask Brenda to pass it on to me.

Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#23 of 30 in Knysna
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#26 of 129 in Knysna
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#69 of 129 in Knysna
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront.accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing