We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Manor House
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$77
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
100
112
27
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
112
27
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely deckwooden floorssecure parkingsingle roomb bwithin walking distancebusiness tripoff street parkingpleasant stayenjoyed my stayother guestscape townlovely breakfastlovely placeswimming poolwarm welcometwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 254 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We made reservations and then experienced a death in the family and had to cancel the initial booking dates. Brenda accommodated the changes and we were able to reschedule to the following week, without no fuss or loss of deposit.

Once there, we found ourselves surrounded by caring and accommodating hosts. The room was homely, comfortable and clean. We had our breakfasts on the wooden deck, and spent time relaxing and enjoying the views over the Knysna Lagoon.

The location allowed us easy access to shops, the Waterfront, places of historical significance and facilitated easy travel.

The breakfasts were delicious and wholesome, and the general area was well appointed with couches, chairs, magazines, brochures, television and an "honesty" self help bar. The swimming pool was a welcome added extra.The kitchen and appliances were accessible to us. A very welcome laundry service was provided.

We felt cared for and looked after by the hosts and staff.

We confidently recommend Knysna Manor House to all travellers.

Kind regards

Alexandre Rex Salomon (daughter) and Andrew Peter Rex Salomon (father).



We fe

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cape-Babe-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner - Marketing at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2009

Brenda told us about your sad loss, and we are so glad that she managed to help you and your dad have a great time in Knysna.

Your very kind compliments are much appreciated, and we hope to enjoy your company in the not too distant future.

All the best for 2010
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Our stay here was only for one night but wished we had stayed for longer. I had broken my foot prior to our arrival, and on noticing this Brenda offered me a single room on the ground floor. (My wife using the pre booked room on the first floor) The ameneties were first class and the outlook over the lagoon whilst having a superbly cooked full breakfast was a delight. Brenda and Anthony are first class hosts and obviously enjoy the job they do as it shows throughout the house. My personal thanks to them both (the foot is now 90% healed) for the "personal touch" Next time we will spend a lot more time with them.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner, Marketing at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2009

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad that Brenda and Anthony looked after you well during your stay with us.

I am also sorry to hear about your foot, but glad that we could offer comfortable accommodation that suited your conditions.

I do agree the view from the deck is my best in the whole world.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

The B&B was very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again whe nwe are next in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joandonaghadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Marketing / Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2009

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Manor House. It is always helpful to us, the owners to know how well Brenda and Anthony are doing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed three nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast centrally located in Knysna. We had arrived in Knysna without having arranged a place to stay. We saw the Manor House and liked the look of the place so decided to see if they had a room. They did. Brenda welcomed us warmly and showed us to a beautifully appointed double room with en-suite bathroom. The terrace at the back has plenty of place to sit and enjoy the lovely views of the harbour and mountains whilst quaffing a red wine or three. There's secured parking behind the house (very handy). The breakfast is really excellent, and the house itself is gorgeous. The hospitality offered by Brenda, her husband Anthony and the staff is very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive; efficient but warm and welcoming. It seems like nothing is too much trouble to them. And, I found the price very, very reasonable. I would seriously recommend this lovely B&B to everyone. I thought it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornucopians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Marketing, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2009

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you so much. It is always great to know that people have enjoyed their stay at our guesthouse. As you said, the deck is great for having a glass of wine or two.

We look forward to welcoming you and any of your friends back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Thank you once again for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Given the circumstances surrounding our visit - the owners were doing routine maintenance, we however were not disturbed by this in the slightest. Knysna Manor House is large, beautiful, comfortable and accessible to all places of interest. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure our comfort and ensured that our stay was memorable. A great place to stay with kids; the comfort of being at home and with the added benefit of delicious home cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kairae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner, Marketing at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2009

Thank you for the wonderful review, and my apologies once again for our tardiness when you arrived to check in.

Your company was much appreciated, and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House and treating you to Knysna Manor House hospitality again.

Best Regards
Gail and Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews