We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxed guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #51 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you're looking for a nice relaxing stay in a lovely town, and right on top of all the local amenities, then this is the place for you.
You are literally 5 minutes walk away from the waterfront centre, and all the shops surrounding it.
The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice including the traditional full English !!
The hosts were welcoming and very helpful, and wifi helps keep you in touch with home and anywheres else !
If I ever do the garden route again, and choose to stopover in Knysna, I will return to the Knysna Manor House in a breath.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB3696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Ben,

I thank you for taking the time to review our guest house. Thank you for your kind words, and I am sure that Anthony and Brenda will offer the same service that you received during your stay with us.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    103
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
62
76
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Top marks, the accommodation is in walking distance to town, which was very convenient. Breakfasts were served on the balcony with stunning views over Knysna,& Hosts Brenda & Anthony were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddieb957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good Evening Eddie,

We always welcome reviews from our guests, and thank you for taking the time to submit your honest opinion on TripAdvisor.

Glad that you got a chance to relax, and that Anthony and Brenda were friendly, and able to offer you the services that you required.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford Bridge York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friend and I| spent four nights here in November 2013. The welcome was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Brenda was very helpful in recommending a place to eat - which we visited several times as we found it excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Battleflats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Battleflats,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, despite you having stayed in November.

Anthony and Brenda are great at taking care of our guests, and recommending the best of what Knysna has to offer.

We appreciate all feedback from guests, and look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent New Years Eve there, which was not the best night to be in Knysna. But, the guesthouse was very welcoming despite an issue with the water which was not of their doing at all. Pool was a little cool but welcoming. Rooms are rather small but in character with the heritage building

Room Tip: Maybe try a room with a bit of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Cosmoss,

Thank you for your kind review. I can't imagine how noisy Knysna is on New Years, but am glad that you enjoyed your stay, despite it only being one night, and for you taking the time to review us.

Brenda and Anthony go out of their way to make guests feel at home, and I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. Lizzie and Annaline do a fine job on that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Travelling through South Africa alone, as soon as I arrived here, Brenda and Anthony made me feel like one of the family. The rooms are comfortable and well kept, the breakfast delicious, the ladies looking after you are complete treasures (they took care of my laundry beautifully), the location is perfect - peaceful yet convenient for all there is to do in Knysna, with a spectacular view over the Lagoon and the Heads from their terrace - this is one of the best places I stayed in South Africa. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barefoot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Barefoot (don't know your real name), I am Gail, Brenda's mom.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that Mom and Anthony made you feel like a part of the family. They are so good at that.

I am also so happy that you said that ours was the "Best in South Africa", it makes me feel very proud that we are offering the hospitality that guests such as yourself are looking for. We would welcome you or your friends back at any time.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Awesome accom with great friendly hosts. Very professional & may even be better than the local hotels at affordable prices. Knowledgeable hosts who were able to advise on the best places to visit & the best routes to use over the festive season. I will definitely go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sumesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Sumesh,

Thank you so much for your kind words, my apologies for not getting back to you sooner, but have been away myself.

I am glad that Brenda and Anthony made you feel welcome, and that you would come back again, we look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patensie
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thank you for our stay with you. Great breakfast. Nice pool. Spacious room and bathroom. TV. Weather was hot and humid, so air-conditioning would have been lovely. Other than that, it was perfect, thanks!


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Manor House. I am sorry that the humidity got to you, and with continuing renovations, I am sure that we will soon have air conditioners in all rooms, (have to get by the National Historical Society though).

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House perhaps in slightly cooler months.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 14 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Property: Knysna Manor House
Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing