We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip for forest run”
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #46 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There was thick dust on furniture, the tv did not work properly , the beside lamp switch did not work, the fridge was not working. It was extremely noisy at night /early hours of the morning.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carmel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi Carmel.

Thank you for your feedback. With regards to the TV and the lights, Brenda our manager said that just prior to your visit, she had two ladies staying in the room, and they did not report any problems, and when offered an upgraded room, said no, that they were quite happy in the "budget room" I have addressed the problem regarding the dust with the cleaning staff.

There are form in the rooms asking guests to advise management of any maintenance problems, and as such none were reported.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, and do hope that we are able to host you during next years Marathon.

Best wishes
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The service at Knysna Manor House is very personal and the owners make a point of getting to know the guests. Our room was spacious, comfortable and adequately equipped. A small fridge may be nice but we were able to keep a few things in the kitchen fridge. Being just 1 street up from the main street through town puts Knysna Manor House within walking distance of most shops and restaurants and the fire place in the lounge and the honesty bar are ideal to sit and cozy up in over a few drinks with new made friends and reflect on a day out visiting historical sights or cycling or walking the myriad of trails within a short drive from town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Good Evening Kenneth,

Our greatest assets at Knysna Manor House are our wonderful staff, Anthony and Brenda, as well as Lizzie and Annaline who take care of the rooms. I know that Brenda goes out of her way to make guests feel at home, and that is actually one of the phrases that I use in marketing our guesthouse.

The fireplace is wonderful to sit around, and guests really do love the honesty bar.

We look forward to seeing you at our guest house soon.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location and price are both pluses. It is not a luxury accommodation - in the room we chose, at least... some were better than others. Everything was very clean and the rooms comfortable, but not fancy by any means. Wi-Fi only in the communal area - not in rooms. The owners and their dogs are so so SO sweet and helpful. They really work hard to make every guest have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your honest opinion of Knysna Manor House. I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction. I agree that we are not what you are looking for if you want a fancy 5 star place, but honestly believe that they service offered by Anthony and Brenda far surpasses the three star accreditation that we have been awarded.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House.

Best regards
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were so lucky to find this place. Brenda and Anthony are wonderful proprietors. There wasn't anything we asked for that they couldn't provide. The room was spacious, comfortable, and spotless. The breakfast with made to order omelets couldn't have been better. And the town is absolutely lovely.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

As the owner of Knysna Manor House I am finding it difficult to respond to each and every positive review that I get from our amazing guests. Thanks must go to Brenda and Anthony Liddle (my mom and dad) who continually strive to maintain the high standards I know that they love Knysna Manor House just as much as we do.

Thanks once again to all our guests who take the time to report their experiences at Knysna Manor House.

With the kindest of wishes
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My two sons and I had a great stay at the Knysna Manor House. Their caring service made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts are particularly good! All round, truly good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Deanne,

Knysna Manor House strives to make guests feel at home, and I am glad that Brenda and Anthony are going out of their way to ensure our guests comfort.

I agree the breakfasts are particularly good, and do hope that despite it being winter, you managed to have it out on the deck.

We look forward to welcoming you and your sons back to Knysna Manor House in the future.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thank you Brenda and Anthony, I really enjoyed my stay. The accommodation was lovely and clean and the views were fantastic. It is well situated as it is within walking distance of the shops and the waterfront. The staff were friendly and efficient as well. I would definitely come again if I was in Knysna.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

a five star review.
Thank you so much.
This is what we strive for. Thanks to Anthony and Brenda for maintaining the guesthouse so well, and for their kindness shown towards our guests.

Kind regards
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really pleasant stop over accommodation in Knysna on the garden route, conveniently situated, close to shops and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. The hosts are very friendly and helpful.I recommend this as a B&B or self catering stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Russel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

I agree that the guesthouse is a great palace to stops over, and know that Anthony and Brenda will ago out of their way to ensure Our guests stay is as comfortable and pleasant as can be. We encourage visitors to stay for a couple of days to explore that amazing and beautiful Garden Route.

Kind Regards
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
3.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#23 of 129 in Knysna
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#7 of 107 in Knysna
103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#32 of 129 in Knysna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $59 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront.accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing