We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #42 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thank you Brenda and Anthony, I really enjoyed my stay. The accommodation was lovely and clean and the views were fantastic. It is well situated as it is within walking distance of the shops and the waterfront. The staff were friendly and efficient as well. I would definitely come again if I was in Knysna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
a five star review.
Thank you so much.
This is what we strive for. Thanks to Anthony and Brenda for maintaining the guesthouse so well, and for their kindness shown towards our guests.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    108
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
63
78
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really pleasant stop over accommodation in Knysna on the garden route, conveniently situated, close to shops and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. The hosts are very friendly and helpful.I recommend this as a B&B or self catering stop over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Russel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I agree that the guesthouse is a great palace to stops over, and know that Anthony and Brenda will ago out of their way to ensure Our guests stay is as comfortable and pleasant as can be. We encourage visitors to stay for a couple of days to explore that amazing and beautiful Garden Route.

Kind Regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wonderful! Clean, well equipped room. Friendly service. Good rates. Really great breakfast served in a room with fantastic views of the Lagoon. I highly recommend this establishment. One very minor negative feedback: there are four old, smelly, friendly dogs on the property that barked at me as there way of saying hello. If you are scared of dogs you will feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for giving your honest opinion of Knysna Manor House. it is always great to receive positive feedback such as yours.

Regarding the dogs we are looking alternative options to move the dogs away from the main house.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the future.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay!! Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great service, all within a 10 minute walk to the waterfront. Thank you for having us over! If I am ever back in Knysna I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you Brandon for your kind words. As a team, we strive to make our guests feel at home, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to us upon visiting Knysna again.

Thank you
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thank you for the lovely time we had in your guest house. The place is beautiful and we felt the welcome atmosphere. The breakfast and view was great. Thank you for helping us with our flat tyre! Much appreciated.
Theresa, Sanet and Trudie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Sanet, Theresa and Trudi for your honest opinion of our guesthouse.

Thanks to our honest reviewers, we have achieved the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013.

Thanks also to Brenda and Anthony for their continued hard work and dedication which ensures the homely atmosphere that our guests enjoy so much.

Best regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My stay at this guest house was a pleasant one, the owners were friendly, the breakfast lady was very kind and helpful, the rooms were clean and a decent size, very close to the waterfront, and the house was filled with lovely antique furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Sheryn. The guesthouse is centrally located and is nice and close to the waterfront.

I am glad that you liked the older decor of the house, which is totally in keeping with the age of the house. Some of the items are certainly antique.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Would be more than happy to recommend to family, friends and tourists. Hosts friendly and professional with lots of information about the local history and environment. Our room was delightful with an en suite bath room tucked below an intimate little stairway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Good Evening Selwyn,

I guess you stayed in room A, our Princess Room, which is rather quaint, with the cute little bathroom.

Glad to hear that Anthony and Brenda were professional in the attitude towards their guests and that they could offer useful information about the area both historical and activities to partake in.

Wishing you a great day.
Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#38 of 126 in Knysna
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#69 of 126 in Knysna
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
2.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 126 in Knysna
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Property: Knysna Manor House
Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing