We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful sleep At Knysna Manor House..”
Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #46 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I called to book this accommodation in Knysna, Brenda answered and i explained that we have been turned down on previous places because of our new born child, she was so nice and told me that she will have a room ready with bath tub so that we could give Little Kasper a bath, she was so helpful and understanding.
When arrived we received the room and settled in, a rocking chair to breast feed him, wonderful bed, Amazing bed actually, wonderful house and gorgeous view from the wooden deck.
Thank you for your hospitality and for the love we felt amongst you :-))
Tommy-Sindi and Little Kasper from Cape Town......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi Tommy, Sindi and Little Casper,

This is what Knysna Manor House is all about, trying to make guests feel at home. I am so glad that Brenda was so accommodating to your requests. We try to offer guests the special services that others tend to not offer these days.

Thank you for choosing Knysna Manor House for your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you or your friends back in the near future.

Gail Dalton
Owner
Knysna Manor House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My mom and I had a very pleasant stay at the Knysna Manor House! On arrival we received a very warm welcome from our hosts and quickly felt right at home. We received instructions on how to get in and out of the house and was supplied with keys to the front and back doors. My car was parked in the enclosed parking lot at the back of the house. We were escorted to our room, which was warm and sunny with lots of natural lighting. The bedroom was spacious and neat and the linen very clean and fresh. We were also supplied with warm water bottles, which we luckily didn't need, as it was a lovely warm two days during our stay in Knysna. The bathroom had recently been redone and had a lovely large shower. The television had numerous channels, including a Supersport channel, Mnet and a movie channel. We were treated to a Full English breakfast the next morning which was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Knysna Manor house and would recommend it to anyone heading in that direction! Thank you to our hosts and friendly staff for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, and your review title "Home Away from Home" which is what we strive to give our guests. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Knysna Manor House is a great place to stay in Knysna. It is situated really close to the town center, but still far enough away to offer a quiet stay.
The owners are successfully trying to provide an accommodation, which is meeting todays expectations (e.g. pool, internet) without loosing the flair of this historic building. The rooms were not just clean but also equipped with a great bathroom (they seemed to be brand new), TV and a heater (very vital if you want to stay there in winter).
During breakfast you can feel like a wealthy Englishman a 100 years ago.
What we enjoyed most where the recommendations we got from our hosts. They were answering all our questions about what to do and were to eat and added their own opinion and suggestions. Due to the support of the hosts not only our stay in the Knysna Manor House was great but the whole time in the Knysna area was an awesome experience.

In short words: The Knysna Manor House offers a great value for money, especially separating itself from a big hotel due to the impressive building and the good service offered by the hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for bringing out the coziness and homeliness in your review of Knysna Manor House. So many people come to our guesthouse expecting what hotels provide and do not recognise the importance of the heritiage of our B&B, and our aim to offer guests a homely and comfortable environment at reasonable rates.

I am so glad that Anthony and Brenda were able to provide you with information that made your visit to our beautiful area such a success. We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the future.

Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed at Knysna manor house twice. The first time I stayed in one of the private entrance rooms and the second time we stayed in a room inside the house.

Although the house is absolutely beautiful inside (the old fashioned decor and the history behind everything really makes you feel like you are somewhere special), I would definitely request a room with a private entrance next time. Just because of the wooden floors and not wanting to disturb anyone.

The one thing I was a little disappointed with was that there was no wi fi the last time we were there, although it was so relaxing not having had any internet.

The staff are friendly and service is always good, and you cant beat the location!!! I won't even waste my time staying anywhere else.

I look forward to seeing Knysna Manor house again in November. :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltWaterGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor H, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Wow, the second time coming back, and again in November. Guests such as yourselves are what our B&B is all about. Thank you so much for your kind words, and I respect your comments regarding the wooden floors, although that is part of the History of Knysna Manor House.

These are the original floor that were laid by the Mayor of Knysna when the house was build in 1896. It is truely an Historical building.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to meeting you on one of your return visits.
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A very warm welcome, lovely rooms, and great service - loved the breakfast! I have no hesitation in recommending the Manor House to others, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

HI GW,

Thank you so much for choosing Knysna Manor House for your recent holiday to South Africa. I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience with us, and that everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Guesthouse in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Knysna Manor House. It is such a wonderful place to enjoy your time in Knysna and its surroundings. The guest house is centrally locatet and there is no need to take your car to the waterfront or to other shops/restaurants.
Our room was large and had a large bathroom with a nice shower. The room was spotlessly clean and everything was excellent maintained.
The breakfast was delicious, nothing was impossible. Breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the lagoon.
The staff was very friendly and very helpful!
We enjoyed the good ambience during our stay!
Sabine Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad that Lizzie looked after you so well in Brenda's absence, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Warm and friendly atmosphere. Nice and authentic rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

It is always great to have guests appreciate the authenticity of our Guesthouse. Knysna Manor House thanks you for your kind words, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Gail Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.5 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#21 of 129 in Knysna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#7 of 107 in Knysna
103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#32 of 129 in Knysna
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#68 of 129 in Knysna
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $59 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront.accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing