We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - definitely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for my husbands birthday and Rossano & Bianca and the team made it a very special occasion! We arrived late on Friday evening to a personal welcome from Rossano and very friendly staff who showed us to our room which was beautifully decorated with rose petals strewn on the bed, fresh flowers in the room and a chilled bottle of bubbly!

My assessment of hotels and guesthouses always weigh in the quality of breakfast as I am gluten intolerant. On this occasion, faultless! We had a champagne breakfast on the balcony looking out over the Knysna heads - with complimentary birthday cupcakes and poached eggs on gluten-free toast!!

Bianca had plenty of suggestions of things we could do to enjoy the weekend and to crown everything, it turns out these two have a vast knowledge of South African wines too - they introduced us to our now favorite red blend - 3 Bins from Kaapzicht which is the recommended 'house red' @ Villa Afrikana.

The whole house is very tastefully decorated and newly refurbished and it seemed like each room has a private balcony. We didn't use the pool as it was a little chilly on the weekend we were there but it looked awesome; well kept, clean and crystal clear water. We will have to go back at some point to go try it!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MiemieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 738 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in many amazing places during our 10 nights in South Africa, and Villa Afrikana was another class. We called ahead and arrived a night early and weren't disappointed. It's very special from the moment you arrive. Ross and Bianca are first class hosts, and they have an amazing team who really don't let you lift a finger. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both with breathtaking views, and breakfast on your own terrace is a real treat. Book and enjoy.... A special thank you to Thoko who was a real delight! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Villa Afrikana is one of those special places which just hits the spot. The villa is beyond spectacular, the views amazing, the staff could not possibly be any better and the owners, Ross and Bianca, are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

We only had time to spend one night, but would love to spend a week there hiking and enjoying the beauty. We and our friends booked the two rooms on the top floor which gave us great privacy, beautiful panoramas off our balconies and a great night’s sleep. The bathrooms are spectacular, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast among the best we had.

The villa has earned its 5 star rating.

After checking out we headed to the waterfront to do a little shopping and happened on to a small art gallery owned by artist Busi Sithole —- her little store is #4 on Grey Street and is definitely worth a visit.

Knysna is a cute little town with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fabulous welcome from owners & staff, including drinks & cold towel.
Crisp, white walls with local decorations (real animal skins - but v tasteful).
Large room opening to large shared balcony leading to plunge pool.
Took 10 mins to walk to harbour, which was a complete disappointment - quite tacky. The boat trip around the bay (think it was the MV John Benn) was utter rubbish We considered leaping off & swimming back !!
However, back to the Villa. Highly recommend it, it's a top place !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very simply this is the best accommodation I have ever stayed in and you will see I am a Senior Reviewer with some experience. The overall design and execution of the themes in each room is perfect in every way, the excellent website hardly does it justice. The views out over the lagoon to the Heads are stunning and the staff reflect the owners pride in service. This is where attention to the smallest detail is the norm. From the meet and greet to the fantastic individually prepared breakfasts served on the patio, from the concierge service to the helpful advice on day trips, from afternoons by the pool to sundowners Ross and Bianca set the standard. Thank you so much for a wonderful four days, you will certainly be seeing Lynn and I again. If Tripadvisor ever add a six star category Villa Afrikana would qualify with ease.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, my tip is to book early or you will miss out. This is not accommodation...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We only got to stay one night at Villa Afrikana but we wish we had more time. Bianca and Ross gave us the most warm and attentive welcome, greeting us from the car, making sure our bags were taken care of and giving us the tour of the beautiful house. Throughout the staff we helpful but unobtrusive.

Our room was gorgeous, with a stunning corner view of Knysna and the bay, clean, modern, beautifully decorated and really relaxing. We choose to eat our breakfast in our room, meaning we were able to have a long lie in after several days of none stop activity. Loads of choice and very tasty.

A really lovely couple, running a really lovely B&B, we'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Villa Afrikana and felt 5 star service and treatment in every way. Staff are well trained to make sure your every need is taken care of and the owners: Ross and Bianca are ever present if you need them.
Noteworthy of its own mention are the breakfasts which you can choose to eat in your suite rather than the dining area, and which you order the night before. No buffet. Tailor-made for whatever you choose.
The only downside (if I have to make one) is that the 'walls are quite thin' i.e. you can hear what's happening around the guest suites, but owing to the outstanding-ness of everything else, I wouldn't let this deter me from staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top suite (not poolside) which was more private. Lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gizelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $164 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing