We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Highly enjoyable place to stay, absolutely no complaints at all! For the life of me, I couldn't think what more one would want in this place. Rooms are awesome, clean and well designed. The location is prime as well, and the pool area is beautiful. I couldn't think of a nicer place to turn over the new year at! Bathrooms are very luxurious, and the internet and amenities worked well. Breakfast was well designed, and very generous. You get what you see. Don't think twice about coming here, you really won't regret it at all. Staff were amazing as well, no complaints, managers, please send my compliments to the staff, especially Lovemore, as he was a huge help to us. In terms of restaurants, don't go to 34 degrees South. Its a huge tourist trap that despite what they say, don't take reservations. Food looked poor, and very touristy. Other than that, what a lovely place! I really hope that I will return, Villa Afrikana is true paradise!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
541
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mid of November we stayed for 4 nights in the Villa Afrikana. Ross, Bianca and their team offered us a service that can hardly be beaten. When we arrived, it slightly rained. We were not only already warmly welcomed outside the hotel but also offered umbrellas not to get wet. We thoroughly enjoyed the smashing views from the hotel, the peace and quietness, the interior decoration, the cleanliness, the balcony, the delicous food and the friendliness of everybody as well as the very valuable hints regarding possible activities from Ross. Thank you very much once again.
Alfred B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

By far, my stay at Villa Afrikana was the most enjoyable one on my Garden Route drive. I stayed at 6 properties on this stay in South Africa, and none came close to Villa Afrikana. The property has just an exceptional view of Knysna, really beautiful.

The room I stayed in was flawless, the attention to detail was spot on. The staff was great, and I have to say that the owners Bianca and Ross are just the best hosts. They have the kind of genuine warmth that you cannot fake, you can tell they are real 'people persons' that are intent on making sure that all their guest have a good stay.
I can see why this hotel is ranked number 1 in Knysna and won the Travellers' Choice® 2013 Winner award.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jrsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our stay in Villa Afrikana was simply incredible. We stayed for 4 nights in November and were made to feel exactly as spoilt and welcome as we had expected from so many glowing Tripadvisor reviews. The owners and hosts, Ross and Bianca, struck a beautiful balance between making us feel as well looked after as we would be in a palace, yet as comfortable and at ease as we would be in our own home. The thoughtful touches that affected every aspect of our stay show that these hosts really do relish in taking care of their guests. All of the staff seemed genuinely happy to help and never ceased smiling. Every evening, on returning from a day out, we were welcomed into the house, helped with our bags, asked if we would like a drink and offered help making dinner reservations, including taxi bookings. The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and served on our own private terrace at a time of our choosing. We enjoyed beautiful views of the lagoon and the heads in the distance. It was really magical. Ross and Bianca were full of help in planning our stay, booking activities, offering suggestions and giving directions. The dinner recommendations were accurate and good. I could not fault our stay if I tried. My only advice to anyone thinking of staying is book early! Such fantastic accommodation fills up fast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Villa Afrikana was one of 7 places we stayed on our trip along the Garden Route and it was our favourite. Ross and Biance were perfect hosts, their property is lovely and Knysna was a fantastic place. We had an incredible view from our bedroom and a lovely breakfast outside in the morning. The room was incredibly well decorated, impeccably presented and spotlessly clean. Given we only had one day in Knysna (something we would change should we return) Bianca was quick to give us pointers on what to do. We visited The Heads, and also had lunch at The East Head Cafe (both great) followed by a couple of drinks around the pool in the sun. Dinner had been recommended (by Villa Afrikana) and booked at the Olive Tree which was also memorable. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will try and return as soon as we can. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Villa Afrikana is simply fantastic! Ross and Bianca, the owners and hosts, are informative and friendly and the staff are ever-present and exceptional. The rooms are beautiful and personal touches are carefully thought-out every evening. The breakfasts are the standout feature but there is nothing that my wife or I would change from our time there. If you are looking a romantic place to stay in Knysna, you should look no further. A perfect honeymoon location!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just spent 2 days at this beautiful place and the experience is one never to forget.

The Villa is superb and the hospitality of the hosts, Ross and Bianca is second to none.

A beautiful breakfast is served up either to your room or the scenic terrace.

Once again, thank you Ross and Bianca and we will see you next year!

Julia and Mike

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
803 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing