We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb boutique hotel with a personal touch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A superb boutique hotel with a personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Spitzkop Suite, with the perfect balcony view of the estuary (their signature photo). It is a climb up to the third level, but worth it. Ross and Bianca are wonderful hosts. The staff are very attentive. We enjoyed our breakfasts very much (great omelettes Bianca..!). They prepared a picnic lunch for our departure that was great. The hotel facilities are excellent and every bit as lovely as the photos on the web site. Everything was clean and tidy. Lovely decor with a personal touch. Well deserved #1 rating in Knysna. Only issue was a shaky internet connection that they are trying to fix.

Room Tip: Spitzkop Suite is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
525
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful villa with unique rooms. Hosts are amazing will do everything for you from organising trips to booking restaurants. If your going to knysna you should stay here. The town is beautiful and very relaxing. There are lots of places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodgreattime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the very moment i arrived with my wife we were treated to absolute luxury and attention to details. Ross & Bianca we salute you! Your Guest Suites are truly magnificent your staff are so polite and delightful. On arrival Ross offered us a drink which was very welcome after a long drive to then get strawberries dipped in chocolate and bubbly combined with a view from our suite only to be described as magical which quite litterally made my wife cry with happiness. The breakfast on our balcony was absolutely fantastic. The suite was perfect in fact the whole Villa Afrikaana experience was a perfect 10.

Room Tip: Spitskop Suite has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Villa Afrikana during our December Holiday! The entire experience was absolutely amazing! The service was absolutely fantastic, we felt like royalty! We visited four (5star) establishments during our holiday in the garden route and this was by far the best! Thank you so much Ross & Bianca

Andries & Angelique v Wyk ( Pretoria)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andriesv v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The place is stunning, attention to detail faultless, superb views, great breakfast anything you could possibly want provided. The staff have all worked there since opening and some of the happiest staff we encountered across South Africa, which just toped off the fabulous stay. Ross and Bianca are the most delightful hosts and so helpful. Highly recommended. If I could have asked for 1 extra thing it would have been underfloor heating! We had a couple of rainy cold days and with the tiled floor it felt quite cold, but this is so minor in comparison to the whole fantastic experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the most expensive guest house that we have stayed in during two visits to South Africa but you get what you pay for. What sets this establishment apart from the others is the level of service that you receive, which is outstanding - more like a 5 star hotel than a guest house. Breakfast can be taken on your own balcony and is ordered by leaving a tick-card outside your room the previous evening, selecting a half hour time slot for delivery. The choice is huge and the quality is excellent - the fresh fruit platter must have had about 10 different fruits and the presentation was superb. Our car was washed as a courtesy during our stay and luggage is delivered to your room so no hauling heavy suitcases around. The property itself is immaculate and furnished to a very high standard. We stayed here for 2 of our 7 nights in Knysna and it was certainly a special treat to have this as one of our stopovers on our trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Pengman,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted to read your great comments and favourable comparisons. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana during your next visit to the country.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The place and the hosts gave us all we could wish for and so much we did not even know we wanted. In addition to the stunning view, the beautiful rooms, the best breakfast service ever and the so helpful and friendly hosts and staff, we really appreciated the details for extra comfort; the welcome wine in the room, the beautifully twice-day-cleaned rooms, the wonderful beach/shopping bags to use during the stay, the artful compositions of the good-night-sweets by and on the beds, etc. Thank you, Ross and Bianca!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Owner's and Spitskop suites and they were both amazing with undisturbed views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Kara Fur Lena and Family,

Tusen tack for writing such a great review, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed all we had to offer and more. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana next year.

Hälsningar fran “Paradiset” “Tills vi möts igen”,
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy and Zandi

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
5.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.4 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing