We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Dream place to stay...”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very well managed and beautiful place to stay. The owners go an extra mile to help you out. The breakfast in room is a bliss. Very beautiful views of the Knysna Bay from the room and patio. Would definitely like to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
541
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Afrikana for 3 nights and we cannot recommend it highly enough. It is luxurious accommodation with beautifully decorated, spacious rooms! The bathroom in our bedroom was simply amazing with jacuzzi bath and underfloor heating ( welcome in the winter season!) the breakfast was cooked to order every day and the fresh fruit, croissants and cappuccinos were delicious!
The owners, Ross and Bianca, were always on hand to offer advice about the location and where to go. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Knysna is a beautiful place and the Villa Afrikana is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlasgowPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Villa is spotlessly clean and the service is attentive. The view is unparalled. The owners know the area well and are great in helping you plan your days of dightsseeing and adventure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent 3 memorable nights over at Villa Afrikana during the Knysna Oyster Festival with friends. An ever smiling staff made sure we felt comfortable and at home at all times, we enjoyed the option of having a full breakfast served in our room and most of all the breathtaking views over the entire Knysna lagoon. We would not hesitate to reccommend this place and will definately be back next year.
rick

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmuller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaafrikana, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Rick

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and hope you returned home safely and well rested. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your friends again at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites next year.

Kind Regards
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Lovemore, Hermia and Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Having spent many weeks planning my trip to South Africa over the Christmas period in 2012 I booked Villa Afrikana in March. My booking was confirmed and 50% deposit deducted from my credit card. All my research & hard work had come to fruition and I was thrilled with my itinerary for my 10 day trip to celebrate my 40th birthday. However 4 months later in July I received an email from Villa Afrikana informing me that they could no longer honour my booking due to an administration error.
They never informed me what the administrative error was
They offered me an upgraded room at a discounted rate if I could change my dates - arriving a day later. This wouldn't work with the rest of my itinerary as it being Christmas everything else ws heavily booked.
As an alternative they offered me availability at another guest house at the same rate as Villa Afrikana was charging. Having contacted the guesthouse directly I was able to get a cheaper rate so needless to say I declined the offer from Villa Afrikana.

I work in the travel industry and have stayed in many destinations around the world. Through my work I am of course aware that overbookings/mistakes can and do occur. However in 20 years it has never taken 4 months to notify me of an issue and I have never been offered a more expensive rate than I could get from a hotel myself - quite the opposite - you are offered an alternative at a cheaper rate.
My 50% deposit credit card has been refunded to my credit card.
So I will never get to stay at Villa Afrikana but if this is how they treat future guests then I am glad. So be carfeul - just because you have a confirmed booking, paid your 50% deposit your booking may not be secure.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DAVLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear DAVLAC
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the opportunity again to apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you. We take your comments very seriously and understand your anger and disappointment, we only wished there was a way in which we could have made it up to you.

We are a husband and wife run small business and work hard to make everything right for the satisfaction of our guests. Regretfully errors can and do happen in the most unforeseen circumstances and we all know too well how embarrassing and frustrating it can be for everyone.

We feel it is important for the readers to know that, we appealed to you as the travel professional you indicated to us you were when you requested and were granted a discounted industry/familiarization rate, we pleaded for your understanding, we offered you a further discount, an upgrade as well as alternative accommodation of same standards or higher. The place we offered you as an alternative, is situated just down the road from us, enjoys same standards and slightly higher rates, oddly they did not seem to recall you having been in touch with them.

The excellent guest satisfaction we are enjoying, coupled with our exceptional level of service, equally and evenly provided by our wonderful staff day after day can only bode well for our future guests.

We sincerely hope to be given the opportunity again to welcome you to Villa Afrikana in the future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here only 2 nights, but the service has been one of the best. Bianca and Ross really made every attempt to make our stay an amazing one. Loved it! Breakfast on your private terrace overlooking the lagoon... wow!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africanbabe1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We arrived for our honeymoon on Sunday 17 April and did not want to leave after a weeks stay!! Once we got to Villa Afrikana, they exceeded all our expectations! From their welcome to their helpfulness in every aspect Bianca and Ros are amazing hosts! The breakfasts are excellent and the view while you eat is stunning! The staff are so friendly and accomodating and all the little extras (weather reports and also little sweets every evening) are just so much appreciated! Villa Afrikana have a amazing atmosphere and the views are top rate! I would recommend this Guest Suite to every one!! It is the best experience ever! We will defnitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anmari_smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
808 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing