We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be nice in summer, very cold rooms in spring, out of town.”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #7 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Would be nice in summer, very cold rooms in spring, out of town.”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in October and the place isn't really geared up for this time of year - there's just a small panel heater in the room, which was very cold - I have a picture of me sitting in bed wearing a coat! The place would probably be nicer in summer, particularly as if you walk to the end of the garden you are right by the lake.

The place is outside of Knysna itself, so you need your own transport while you're there.

Other than being cold, the room and bathroom were fine - standard B&B stuff. Our room had a little veranda, which again would have been nice in summer but wasn't really useable in spring.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotsahols2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush, Manager at Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
This particular guest was on a guided tour with a vehicle and a guide/driver who was more than willing and able to take them to where ever they wished to go.
We are within walking distance from town (approximately 2km) and there is also a newly built pedestrian walkway and cycle track taking you straight into town which is frequently used.
With regards to the time of year, October is spring time. There is sufficient heating in the room - under carpet heating which guests are able to manage themselves and keeps the room warm and cosy, a panel heater for that extra warmth if the under carpet heating is not warm enough, and there is also an extra duvet placed in the cupboard which is in full view for all guests to see.

We are always here for our guests for any reason what so ever, and if we are unable to assist them at the time we will always make a plan to help them enjoy the rest of their time spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
166
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The views over the lagoon from the room were marvelllous the staff were very helpful and friendly, the outside facillities included a sauna, hot tub and swimming pool. The Lodge is however some distance from town and as it does not serve evening meals or snacks it is necessary to have your own transport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antiquesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Great little B&B, but the Eyewitness Guide to South Africa lists the wrong telephone number for the Waterfront Lodge! We spent two nights here, in winter, so some of Knysna was closed. Gavin, our host provided some good advice on where to visit locally.

Breakfast was excellent, The rooms (we had two) were large, clean, great views, big bathrooms. Good value for money, we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHolroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

This was our second stay at THE WATERFRONT LODGE IN KNYSNA and was as ood as the first visit. the hosts Marion and Gavin are so friendly and helpful they make you feel so welcome, its so homely you can go to breakfast in relaxed clothing, you dont even have to lock your room door. Kate and Jay who cook breakfast are so sweet and they will recommend dinner and reserve the restaurant for you they are so obliging and the breakfast is fantastic, Your car is washed every morning....lovely spot overlooking the Lagoon...rooms are amazing with lovely balconies such luxury, we were golfing and Marion booked our tee times ......the town of Knysna is lovely and the waterfront has some lovely restaurants TAXIS SO CHEAP, Bennies taxis which Kate will book are so reliable THE BEST RESTAURANT IS PEMBREYS, WE WOULD NEVER STAY ANY WHERE ELSE IF IN KNYSNA..... NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THEM TO ORGANISE...... WATERFRONT LODGE......THE BEST RELAXING PLACE EVER.....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank custard1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Second stay at this homely upscale B & B and will be very happy to return for a third visit in 2011.

Great position just a short ride to the centre of Knysna which suited us perfectly. Marion and Gavin fantastic hosts aided by the wonderful J and Kate who could not have been more helpful booking great restaurants (Pemburys the favourite) and suggesting days out. Really nice room (no 7) on the ground floor leading directly on to the garden and out over the lagoon. A new service from the previous stay is the turn down service which is great as fresh towels are provided. Breakfast excellent.

Nice decor to the entire property with an honesty bar provided. It should be pointed out that three cats can occasionally been spotted around the property which wasn't a problem at all for us but worth mentioning if an issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimbledonGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We used Waterfront Lodge as a base for a golfing and sightseeing holiday. Gavin and Marion could not have been more helpfull, organising our games in advance at stunning golf courses. Waterfront Lodge is about a mile out of Knysna which gives it a lovely "out of town" feeling. The rooms are, as a result, quiet and feel quite secluded with their beautiful lagoon views. Gavin's knowledge of the area proved to be extensive as he recommended some wonderful drives in the Knysna area, the Prince Alfred Pass being quite remarkable. As we were a little out of town we thought that we would have the nuiscence of using taxi's on an evening. However Marion and Kate booked us into fantastic restaurants with free shuttle service there and back, excellent.
Overall a lovely relaxing place to stay. Beautifull, quiet rooms. Friendly staff and great hosts. Our best stay on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxxxxxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The settings were beautiful . We had booked for 2 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we ended staying for 10 nights instead.. The staff and owners were more than helpful.. Breakfast is delightful so much to choose from... nothing was to much trouble for them .. would recommend definately whilst in the Knysna ( And our hire car was washed every morning as a bonus ..these little touches were special)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl0ndie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Property: Waterfront Lodge
Address: The Point Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing