We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Knysna
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
244
47
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
244
47
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guinea fowl honesty bar freshly baked croissants first floor overlooking the garden breakfast was excellent short drive south africa perfect hosts garden route jacuzzi bath swimming pool places to visit wished we could have stayed longer guest house each morning knysna lagoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 298 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2019

Location:
This wonderful guest house / hotel is called Waterfront Lodge and this sums the location up perfectly, the wonderful gardens back onto Knysna Lagoon. It isn’t the easiest place to find, because its at the opposite end to the main Knysna Quays – but once you have found it, its simply fabulous.

Check In:
We parked up in one of the free parking spaces and then went to check in. Our hosts were lovely even though the lady (sorry I am bad with names) had a terrible cold and cough. They were super friendly, showed us up to our room and took time out to tell us about the local area and suggest things to do.

Room:
The room was lovely with a balcony which overlooked the gardens, which had a pool and sunbathing area. Inside the room was a comfortable bed, modern bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Two very small criticisms of our room – throughout our stays in South Africa, we had premium cable tv channels, here we had a basic package. Also in our room the wifi signal wasn’t very strong, but I guess when you are in the middle of a stunning area, with views out to a gorgeous lagoon, this is forgivable. Our room did not have air conditioning but did have a very powerful ceiling fan.

Service:
Service throughout our stay was friendly and efficient. One morning we went out to our car to find it had been cleaned – what a lovely touch. Breakfast was plentiful and amazing with everything local, free range and well cooked

Check Out:
Check out was very warm and friendly and efficient too

Summary:
The best way to sum our stay up is to say that when we visit the region again, we would not want to stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Midlifetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

This house been transformed by the owners Marion and Gavin over the years. The accommodation is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The location is quiet and easy to find. A short drive from Knysna centre. The views from the upper rooms over the bay are very pleasent as the local bird life the makes its way into the garden. Breakfast is comprehensive and everything you would expect of a top class place and all cooked food is done to order, so its fresh.
There is plenty to do in the area, including a drive out to the Bay entrance East side some lovely photographs from here at both sea level and a viewing point high on the cliff looking inland across the Bay.

Room tip: Upper floor, central balcony, see the web site pics
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2019

Ourselves and our granddaughter Stayed for 2 nights in luxury rooms which were amazing. Looking over the lagoon with very large balconies. Hosts could not do enough for you, very informative, arranged a shuttle and booked dinner at a lovely restaurant for us. Would highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB2132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a garden route tour. Nothing was to much trouble. Invaluable information about places to visit and eat. Taxis arranged if needed. The property was lovely and rooms were exceptional. My sister celebrated her birthday here and she was presented with a delicious cake.
The Olive Tree restaurant was brilliant.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Stayed here for 4 nights on our Garden Route tour from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town at the end of March. Never been before yet we were greeted like long lost friends and the hospitality just got better. After a guided tour we were introduced to the self service bar and decided to chill outside under cover with a few Castle Lights!
Breakfast is everything you would ever want and more and we were even given muffins to take out on our day trips which were all individually wrapped. Our room (No. 7 I think) was downstairs and had a lovely veranda overlooking the garden - bathroom was great with bath and walk in shower. We were allowed to view the other rooms and next time will book one on the 1st floor but all rooms were great. Will definitley be going back

Room tip: Would recommend a room on the first floor
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werdna122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews