We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable B&B with great views”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #10 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, and felt very comfortable and welcome. We had a double room and a twin room, both with good beds, well-appointed en suite bathrooms, large balconies with views over the water, a TV, a fridge, and kettle for tea-making. Everything was just so. The lounge had squishy sofas and a big TV, and led out onto a covered terrace and the beautiful garden - sadly it was too cold and wet to use the lovely-looking pool. We wandered down to the water a few times to drink in the views, and spent time interrogating Gavin's and Marion's bird books to try and identify the new birds we spotted every day.

Breakfasts were a real highlight, lots of choice of cereal, fruit, juice, breads, plus a huge plate of freshly cooked sausage, eggs, bacon etc. Marion and Gavin could not have been more helpful, answering questions about the locality and booking restaurants for us on a couple of evenings. The lodge is a short but beautiful drive from Knysna's centre, along the water's edge, and there's plenty to see nearby and in the town.

We really enjoyed our stay here, especially as Marion and Gavin seemed quite relaxed about our children, which not everyone is. An excellent place to settle for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Waterfront Lodge. It is tastefully decorated and extremely clean with beautiful views. It is situated in a lovely quiet area. The breakfast couldnt have been done better and the WiFi was accessable without having to ask first. Thank you, we will visit again soon. Mareze

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Mareze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Splendid privately owned and run guest house a little way out of the town centre with a very secluded garden running down to the water's edge. Generous home cooked breakfast. Their hospitality went as far as to taking me to get a replacement key for my suit case at the local locksmith. Marion and Gavin can tell you just where to go and soon it becomes obvious that it is worth staying several days though sadly we only had 3 nights there. For golfers Gavin has corporate membership of more than one first class course in the locality which makes very economical golfing (sadly not sampled by me!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were recommended to visit the Waterfront lodge as we were in South Africa for a Wedding party. We weren't disappointed to say the least; Marion & Gavin are brilliant hosts and their local information and advice is second to none. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable guarateed to give you a good nights sleep. If you're looking for an accommodation thats peaceful but yet accessible this is your place.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 5 are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Marion and Gavin were perfect hosts and very helpful with helping with directions, places to eat etc. They have two beautiful cats and there are lots of birds in the garden - sun birds etc in the trees and guinea fowl in the garden. The views are beautiful and our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the garden and the lagoon. We couldn't fault the place - it was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chick123swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Marion and Gavin the owners will ensure you have a great time here. Nothing is too much trouble and their local knowledge of places to visit and restaurants is better than Lonely planet. They will even fix you up with discounts for some attractions. The bedrooms are comfortable with lovely views over the lagoon where you can sit and watch the local wildlife. The garden is full of birds, Guinea fowl and doves. Downstairs is tastefully furnished with a lot of local African crafts. An honesty bar operates and drinks are very reasonable. Being just outside Knysna (2 minutes in the car) it is very quiet and peaceful and a good nights sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast included fruit, fruit juice, full English in all its varieties and plenty of toast/coffee/tea.
You will not be disappointed if you base yourself here. Marion and Gavin are lovely welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,3,and 5 have balconies extending beyond 2 and 4 with possibly better views and may be larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Waterfront Lodge and it ticked all the boxes: very near the town but right on the Lagoon, lovely rooms with all amenities all opening up to the garden with either a balcony or patio and the best are the owners: nothing is too much for them. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning and on top Gavin the owner will tailormake your day's itineray with maps tips and detailed driving instructions or book your restaurants, golf, tours etc ! Fabulous!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a nice balcony and are larger. However, we liked being able to walk out of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.1 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#2 of 130 in Knysna
680 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: The Point Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $66 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing