We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room at the back and enjoy a great experience”
Review of Bridgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridgewater
Ranked #36 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2011

When we arrived the owners, Pat and Lynne offered us rooms either at the back or upstairs at the front with a view of the estuary. She advised the back rooms (set off the back garden) as they would be quieter despite the lack of a view (the Bridgewater is located right on the N2). The rooms were nice, beds were comfy and they also booked dinner for us at a very decent local restuarant which was an easy stroll to get to. Breakfast was top notch and I believe this to be a quality establishment (just ensure you get a room at the back if you are a light sleeper).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2010

Knysna is a lovely place to stay with lots to do and see. Bridgewater offered a friendly, relaxed place to stay where nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed it so much we booked to return in February 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loislaneSalisburyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Driving from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town, Knysna was the perfect spot to stop and stay for a couple of nights. We were lucky to find this charming, relaxing B&B along the road. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast was great! Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The owners of this waterfront hotel were delightful. Couldn't have been more helpful in pointing out local amenities, sightseeing and restaurants.
The rooms were spotless and the whoole atmosphere was charming.
Breakfast was good and the dining area looked out over the estuary.
Was recommended this hotel by a rep from South Africa National parks who had stayed there previously.
Prices were good and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I came to South Africa for volunteer work and decided to take a quick holiday in Knysna with a fellow volunteer. On our way along the Garden Route, we received a recommendation to stay at the Bridgewater. It was one of the best decisions we could have made. We enjoyed the kindness of our hosts, Pat and Lynne. They provided us with a scrumptious breakfast in the morning and helpful suggestions throughout our stay. We stayed in one of the garden view rooms and we loved seeing the beautiful flowers in the morning. We felt very much at home there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WOA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Cape Town and thoroughly emjoyed Knysna. The bridgewater is a charming and very reasonable B and B. The rooms are just lovely. We were offered on check in the choice of two rooms - a garden view and a lagoon view. Both had obviously been fairly recently renovated (in fact they were having new carpet laid in part of the B and B the day we arrived). After having a look at both rooms we chose the room on the road but it can be very noisy if the windows are open so I would advise a garden room if you have difficulty sleeping - we are heavy sleepers so knew it wouldn't bother us. There was a good choice of fruit, yogurt, cereals and hot food for breakfast. The location was ideal for us being just 10 mins walk to the waterfront and a further 10 to Thesen Island. The service we received during our stay was excellent - Lynn couldn't do enough to help adivse us on places to go, things to see around Knysna, directions and restaurants to visit.
I would definitely recommend Knysna as a stop off for those driving the garden route, especially if you like oysters, and I would certainly recommend the Bridgewater.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discoclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money, one of the best B & Bs we used on the garden route.
From
A seasoned traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtravellerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
5.3 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
12.7 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater

Address: 96 Main Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing