We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough stopover, better than 3 but not a 4.”
Review of Bridgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgewater
Ranked #28 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough stopover, better than 3 but not a 4.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I feel a bit guilty only giving this B&B 3 stars. This is mainly due to the fact that the room was small and its proximity to the main N2 road meant it was quite noisy. On a plus side the B&B is only a 10 minute safe walk to the waterfront and the owners were very helpful and accommodating. There is a list of menus in the communal area to give guests the heads up of places to eat on the waterfront.
The room which we were put up in whilst being small was clean but there was only hand soap in the ensuite, no other toiletries on offer. It did have the benefit of the balcony which we used as there was nobody in the next room and the evening was warm.
The breakfast was good, being freshly cooked for those that wanted it. All in all the Bridgewater is a pleasant place to stay and were it marked out of 10 would get a 7.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TivertonPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
74
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved the appearance and atmosphere of this B&B, very english, beautifully decorated and surrounded by a superb flower garden, just like out of "Home & Garden", absolute perfection. The host is a very friendly lady and the breakfast was excellent. In spite of being directly on the N2, you easily forget that after passing the gate and as it was quiet enough inside the room. The only problem we had was that we didn't like Knysna that much to stay longer and instead of the booked two nights, we only stayed one. But we have followed the hint of the host "You cannot leave Knysna without seeing the Knysna Heads", which was very valuable, as it's really a wonderful spot in the region. We just wished we could have also taken the Bridgewater B&B with us to a more idyllic place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way across the Garden Route to Cape Town. Beautiful old colonial 2 story home set in a manicured garden with water views. Quiet room with all amenities and a wonderful breakfast overlooking the water. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for one night and were very impressed. We were in a lovely garden room at the back of the guesthouse. We arrived early and were warmly welcomed. Pat and Lynn both gave us advice on places to see and their recommendations were very good. Breakfast was generous and varied. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here twice, in 2 different rooms. Cannot be faulted. In perfect position, only a few minutes to knysna centre. The hosts (especially Lynn) were delightful. Lynn even recognised us and remembered which room we had stayed in previously even though it had been 12 months since our previous visit.

Yes the N2 is right there, but it really isn't noticeable. Breakfast is also great, cooked fresh.

Room Tip: Pick the family room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed one night on our way up to Jhb and I wish that we had time to stay longer, definitely next time. On arrival Lynn was so helpful and informative on where to eat and places to see.
The room overlooking the lagoon was beautiful, the colours so calming and these were the same downstairs in the lounge/breakfast room,fantastic. Pat cooked breakfast to order which was superb, as was the buffet with everything you could want.I would not hesitate to recommend The Bridgewater and next time we are in S.A. will make a point of staying there for more than one night, thanks again Lynn and Pat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I'll be honest, I was a bit worried when we pulled in and could see how close the house was to the main road, but I needn't have worried. The great accommodation, tasty breakfasts and lovely hosts hosts (Lynn and Pat) make this a fantastic spot to base yourself for Knysna. We had a room at the back of the house, so we could not hear the road at night. The B&B is within easy walking distance of the town centre, and waterfront, and there are canoes that you can use to go out onto the lagoon. If you do just want to relax by the pool all day, you may find the road noise a bit much, but as we were out exploring Knsyna, and just cooling off by the pool in the afternoon, this spot was ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passenger_tomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.1 mi away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
0.2 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#3 of 103 in Knysna
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#12 of 126 in Knysna
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Idle Monkey B&B
The Idle Monkey B&B
#52 of 126 in Knysna
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater

Property: Bridgewater
Address: 96 Main Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing