We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Outstanding B&B””
Review of Bridgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgewater
Ranked #35 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been staying at this B&B over a number of years now and always look forward to our next visit there !
Staying at Bridgewater is like being at home – its comfortable , spotlessly clean , well run and reasonably priced and , above all, the owners are excellent and make you feel so welcome and they are extremely knowledgeable about the area etc.
The rooms are well equipped and when staying there in the summer months the swimming pool is a delight , and a must for me !
In my opinion one of the most tranquil and lovely views of Knysna is sitting at the breakfast table looking onto the garden , pool and lagoon in the background.
We cannot recommend this B&B more highly and would not consider staying anywhere else in Knysna .

Room Tip: We enjoy all the rooms but No 1 is our current favourite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 3 very special nights with Lynne and her team. Very lovely, immaculate accomodation, fab breakfast in a great location. But the icing was Lynne's personal knowledge and insight not just of Knysna and the local surrounding areas but as far back to Cape Town. We hung onto every piece of advice that Lynne offered - each experience was amazing and her care an attention to a very difficult personal situation that we found ourselves in ( our friends heard very early on during our visit to SA that their very precious Mum and Nan had very sadly and suddenly passed away back in the UK and they were waiting to fly back) was handled amazingly. It was surprisingly cold during our visit and we even found some welcoming hot water bottles in our lovely rooms. We won't forget our visit to the Bridgewater - thanks to a very special team led by a vey special and attentive host.

Room Tip: We had the 2 rooms on the first floor- gorgeous with great sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Bridgewater BnB for 2 nights over the Knysna Oyster Festival. We travelled as a family (my husband and I with our 6 month old baby; my parents and my husband's parents).

It is dead easy to find and the location is just outside of town (nice because you are not affected by traffic jams etc... but close enough to all major locations). It was a 2 minute drive to the Waterfront and a 5 minute drive to Thesen Island, so it's very well positioned.

Our room, which was on the ground floor in the main building, smelt a bit on arrival and it was cold, but on the whole, it was large and clean and the beds were comfortable. Most of the decor was very nice, the curtains and the carpet were tired. Once we asked for another heater for the room, it was great. Despite the double-glazing on all windows, the room was facing the road and it was a little noisy at night - the sleep quality was not great but acceptable. I suggest asking for a courtyard-facing room if this bothers you.

The Bad Things:
-We ordered a cot for the baby, which we needed to pay extra for (not an issue) and were quoted R50 a night. On arriving, we found out that it had changed to R60 a night. Not a big thing, but but why bother quoting in the first place?
- The cot was handed to us and we were told we needed to assemble it. Again, not a big thing, but I felt they could have assembled it and had it ready for us on arrival.
- Pat asked us to excuse the smell in the room as "Taiwanese people has stayed there the night before and made it smell from their muscle cream". Not exactly what you want to hear before you've even put your bags down....The room did smell terrible. They tried to get rid of the smell by turning the room fan on high and leaving all the windows open - it happened to be a very cold day, so we arrived to a freezing cold, smelly room with a baby.....
- The TV was so small (20cm), the selection was really poor (4 local channels, MNET and a sport channel) and on top of that, the reception was "snowy".

The Good Things:
- Pat and Lynn, the owners/managers were pleasant and very helpful.
- They have a very stocked bar that operated on an honesty system.
- The breakfasts were great and prepared by Pat and Lynn each morning, to your tastes. We had everything we could ask for.
- There was free on-site parking which was convenient.
- The security into the house was good.
- The view of the lagoon from the room was lovely.
- The location is great.
- It is well-priced.

The experience was fine and it was a nice enough place, but all in all, the few bad things let it down unfortunately, in my opinion.
Would I go back? Maybe. If you want well priced accommodation with a great breakfast, and are not fussed with a little noise, slightly tired decor and one or two other minor issues, then this is a great establishment.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 8 - very nice and large room with bath and shower, but gets noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aimeelloyd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The bridgewater b&b has several very comfortable rooms, both attached and detached from the main lodge. our room was very clean, and opened onto a courtyard at the rear of the establishment, which meant we had no road noise from the busy road at the front. the proprietors are beautiful ladies, ever so helpful in advice of the surroundings, restaurants etc and could not do any more to ensure that your stay was wonderful.

We would have extended our stay, had we been able to revise our itinerary.

Room Tip: A courtyard room is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Lovely family room. Friendly hosts. Well situated for all the local highlights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Delighted to return to stay with Lynn and Pat within a year. There is a very warm welcome for guests here. The breakfasts are great and there is easy access to the facilities of the house, day and night. Lynn and Pat are very knowledgeable of all the special attractions in the area and are so helpful with bookings. Bridgewater is conveniently located so you have easy access to Knysna and its facilities. The very pleasant boat trip to the Feather Bed is just a short walk away. There is good choice in local restaurants. If you are interested in golf make sure you experience Pezula nearby. With bookings arranged by Bridgewater, experience this golf luxury at reasonable cost. We came here for one night but we stayed for three !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We first stayed here in 2004 and were happy to be back. Bridgewater is in a good location. We only had one night here in a courtyard room which was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Our only disappointment was in Knysna itself which seems to have grown enormoulsy with lots of development since our last visit and has somewhat lost its soul. However cannot fault the accommodation and Pat and Lynne are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
17.5 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater

Address: 96 Main Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing