We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #8 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just delightful!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived after a 5 hour drive from Cape Town. Our room overlooked the lagoon and we were able to have a glass of wine from the honour bar while watching the goings on. The room, setting, furnishings were top notch -couldn't be better. After such a long drive, it was delightful that the lodge offered a shuttle service into town. We took advantage of that and did not have to worry about parking in this busy town. All we had to do once we finished dinner is call the number on the card we were given and just like magic, our chariot appeared. Breakfast the next morning was terrific. Our only sadness was that we only spent one night. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
376
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Just back from SA and stayed at the Amanzi Island Lodge for 3 nights. The rooms are lovely, fresh, clean and comfortable. The views over the water to the heads are spectacular. The pool area is charming and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Loved the style of this house, we had 2 bathrooms and the bed was amazingly comfortable, attention to detail amazing. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Perfect in anyway. Most friendly and super professional service is what you will receive. Spacious comfortable rooms with all the extras you can expect and a lot more that you don't expect but are offered without having to ask for. Will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liepaz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The location could not have been better. We had the honeymoon suite that overlooked the lagoon, room #3, which had two full bathrooms and very comfy bed. The staff was terrific and the breakfast was delicious. It was just the perfect place to stay on Leisure Island in Knysna, SA.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Kent,UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

All round excellence!
A lovely position overlooking the Knysna Lagoon and Heads. Huge room and bathroom, both of the highest standards.
Taxi service provided by Amanzi into town in the evening. Staff were very helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent 7 nights at Amanzi Lodge and we couldn't have made a better choice. The room had a stunning view of the beach was beautifully furnished and well appointed with 2 bathrooms. The staff were friendly, efficient and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast, taken on the balcony, was delicious and varied. Amanzi is situated in a prime position on Leisure Isle, a lovely, quiet and idyllic area of Knysna. We had a really relaxing time there and would love to return soon. This is a B&B we would readily recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious, has stunning views and a lovely sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjoynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for five nights in January. Wish it had been a longer stay. We had a deluxe first floor room with a balcony with a side view of the lagoon, as the superior front facing rooms were already booked. It was, however, a brilliant choice. Amanzi is beautifully decorated throughout and our room was no exception. It was very spacious with a lovely bathroom and plenty of closet space. It was very comfortable and private. Breakfasts were great and the staff lovely. Only one comment in that a couple of easy chairs or loungers on our balcony would have been fantastic.
I fell in love with Amanzi and the lagoon. We are definitely returning in 2015!

Room Tip: Everywhere is lovely in Amanzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#2 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Property: Amanzi Island Lodge
Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing