We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #12 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

great location in Knysna, elegant minimalist coastal chic, lovely place to stay would definitely return if in the area, inspired buffet breakfast, and attention to detail in everything including lovely staff and choccies by the bed ( not just on the first day either !! )

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckle-bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 541 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a truly wonderful stay with our parents at the Amanzi Lodge and we cannot believe we have not done this earlier. Beautiful, thought through and comfy rooms made our stay unforgettable. With it's amazing location and friendly staff we will most definitely come back to enjoy this experience again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dionysuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Amanzi last year and had no hesitation in booking again for this year when we returned in August. The setting is superb and we just love the upstairs bedroom with two bathrooms. We were slightly taken aback to find that the people we had been communicating with regarding the booking had sold the business, it would have been nice to know in advance that Helen and Odette would not be there but that is a minor issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the minute we arrived, we were made very welcome by Alison and all the staff, everyone were very helpful to all our requests and were knowledgeable about the area. They suggested wonderful places to eat. The rooms were beautiful and very clean, and had a fantastic view of the inlet.The breakfast was excellent, and having Promise available to drive us in the evening was an added bonus. If you are in this area the Amanzi Island Lodge is a must. Would love to come back. All the staff were a great team.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A delightful 4 day stay in first class accommodation. We had an excellent room with lovely views over the lagoon. Service and breakfast were very good. A special mention to Promise who is a first class asset to the place. We used the complimentary bikes to tour the island and liked the town as well.
Check-in was from 2 to 5pm which seemed a little early, although an extension from this could probably have been arranged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed one night, but were still greeted with a warm welcome. The B&B is beautifully decorated and is in a good location with great views. The breakfast was good and the staff were all very helpful. It's a shame we only stayed one night, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved our stay at this Lodge! The room was absolutely lovely and the staff was first rate. They had wonderful suggestions for places to eat and things to do in the area. They arranged for us to have our laundry done with a very quick turn around. The breakfast was delicious and the location overlooking the lagoon was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhawk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $136 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing