We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #13 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ended our trip to South Africa at the Amanzi Island Lodge and could not have chosen a better place to relax. The location was perfect, directly overlooking the lagoon and our room was very comfortable. The "three ladies" were perfect hostesses who were extremely solicitous and helpful. We were sorry to have to leave there and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick248_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Amanzi Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location on an Island in the Knysna Lagoon. Excellent welcome from the 3 ladies running the Guest House, nothing is too much of a problem for them. Very good suggestions for Dinner. Great breakfasts, the best we had during stays in 9 Guest Houses in South Africa..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we're chuffed that you enjoyed our breakfasts! We like to keep it as simple, fresh, local and organic as possible - and it's fantastic to know that guests can taste the difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Location, location, location..Simply the best. Add to that great hospitality,excellent accommodation and fine food all makes for an enjoyable stay.The management team are to be complemented on their efforts to make your visit memorable.Neil & Kathleen Jones. U.K.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This great guest house location has stunning views of the lagoon in Knysna. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, providing an amazing breakfast and helpful hints of where to visit during our stay. The room was a very good size with excellent facilities, brilliant bathroom with very large shower. The location is excellent for those wanting peace and relaxation, albeit that the town of Knysna is a short drive away. Having stayed on the Quay previously, we would strongly recommend Amanzi on Leisure Island as a better alternative. All in all a very relaxing stay and we would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 have amazing views over the lagoon, with their own private terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Back home in the Netherlands and looking back our wonderfull trip we definitely found our visit to Knysna and to Amanzi Lodge as one of the highlights of our vacation. The combination of the beautiful location of Amanzi Lodge on the Lagoon, the peaceful ambience, the service and the continuous attention for the guests made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms situated at the groundfloor, overlooking the Lagoon, are very recommendable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coen_kranenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Wow!! We're thrilled that Amanzi was a highlight of what sounded like a great South African holiday! We look forward to welcoming you back for a little more Amanzi magic one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect and exceeded all our expectations. We stayed for six nights but would have happily stayed for longer.The location was wonderful, the lodge was really comfortable with such a relaxed ambience that it felt like a home from home. Our room was beautifully decorated and designed to make the most of the stunning views, whether from the bed or the bath! There were also lots of lovely touches in the room which were thoughtful and appreciated such as a supply of books, magazines, tea lights & matches etc. Pretty much everything had been thought of to make the room a joy to spend time in. The lodge has a fantastic supply of books and guides to the local area and we were also given plenty of helpful tips & suggestions to help us plan our days. In fact the hardest thing was choosing between sightseeing and just spending time at the lodge where we found it so easy to completely relax. Most of all we could not have asked for more hospitable or helpful hosts, Helen, Sue and Margaret you were just fantastic. And not to forget the breakfasts, these were absolutely the best we had anywhere during our trip with lots of delicious healthy options set out buffet style as well as the usual cooked options which always arrived cooked to perfection and just as requested. We had an amazing time in South Africa and stayed at some spectacular places but honestly this was the one place we would return to and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the Amanzi Lodge in March and had the most wonderful time. The warm hospitality of Helen, Sue and Margaret was exceptional and made our visit all the more special. The Lodge is situated at the most idyllic location, overlooking the lagoon which you can swim in, kayak in, etc. Helen, Sue and Margaret provided us with the most wonderful walking recommendations - Robberg and then Nature's Valley - stopping off at Emily Moon for a delicious sushi lunch. The room was airy and spacious (with a his and hers bathroom - bliss!!) with the most amazing balcony overlooking the lagoon - which you could see from the bed. The breakfast was by far the best we had - served on the balcony overlooking the lagoon. This was definitely the best B&B we have stayed in and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 3 was wonderful overlooing the lagoon
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $97 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing