We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Island Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #12 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Oh yes, better to misspell it. The reality is that.
A place where you regret if the reservation is only for one night, as in our case.
From the warm welcome and the customized service, the feeling is to be a part of the "family", without unwanted intrusions.
The Lodge is located in the peaceful Leisure island, 5 min. drive from the centre of Knysna.
At the entrance the large bright windows already open up a world.
Rooms are warm, flawlessly appointed, full of intriguing details and a selection of books and magazines. Our bathroom wasn't huge, but with all the trimmings and the usual large shower you find commonly in South Africa (what a great thing!). The wooden balcony faces the lagoon, and the usual stunning african sunset is never far away. It is equipped with 2 long chair for sunbath and a table. Beds were comfortable and linen neat.
Great choice of amenities and books in the common area, closeby where breakfast is served. A real lounge room with a mighty atmosphere and a "serve yourself" bar supplied with drinks and spirits.
Alongside with the place, breakfast is excellent, with a full choice and yummy offering of the best english syle (and the more yellow scrambled eggs I've ever get!).
Check in and check out procedures are smart and easy, value for money downright positive.
To be improved the signage from the city to get to the lodge (we had to ask), the in room wifi signal, mostly weak, and dissociate the light from the ventilation in the bathroom, in the long run slightly noisy.
Definitely the best place we've stayed in along the Garden route and one of the remarkable top end places in the South African hospitality industry.
We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilPetrarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Ha ha! Amazing Island Lodge it is! We'll rename it asap ;)

We're absolutely gobsmacked that we made such an impression on you after just one night, and we're thrilled that you wrote such a comprehensive review for (potential) future guests. What an eye for detail - even noticing the bright yellow of the farm fresh free range eggs. It's a wonderful compliment that you took the time, thank you!

And thanks for the suggestions regarding the things that we can improve upon. We welcome guest feedback as often it's only by sleeping in the room that one picks up on the little things that are often easily changed (we've fixed the Wifi and will sort out the signage and extractor fan asap!).

We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel through South Africa. It sounds as though you have this wonderful country in your blood now :)

Happy travels :)
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

A stay of just one night (unfortunately fully booked further) was absolutely great, thanx. Will be back, soon I hope…
The lodge is amazing, neat, clean, well-furnished and most of all the service is the best. The personal touch makes it all the better.

Thanx again Helen

Ahmed Kara

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Heads would be great, but the others are as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmedK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi Ahmed
We really enjoyed having your family at Amanzi (it's always great to have such happy enthusiastic guests) and look forward to treating you all to a bit more Amanzi magic when you next need to escape to the Garden Route!
All the best until then,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving during the storm of the year, the trees were sideways, lashing with rain and the internet was down! Who cares we are on holiday. By morning the blue skies returned and we saw the raw beauty of this lagoon area and the neat manicured leisure isle is a gem to explore.The girls at Amanzi are a scream and clearly know the hospitality game very well, with an excellent honesty bar, wonderful breakfast, endless advice on eating out and touring. They even recommended a good barbers. Our upstairs room overlooking the rear garden was not that big but adequate and well equipped (lovely biscuits). Thanks for a superb stay Amanzi

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CITYSAILOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Yip - they say in Knysna, "If you don't like the weather - just wait a minute", and you witnessed the full spectrum! And you'll never be short of laughter (or biscuits) at Amanzi - it must be something to do with the fab guests that we get ;)
Hope to see you both again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hostess and her family couldn't have been more welcoming, and even joined in celebrating our engagement! The room was spacious, well decorated, and fabulous views. Breakfast was superb, great selection and again presentation! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team A, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Ha ha!! Any excuse for a celebration and a glass of bubbles :)
Wishing you two lovelies all the best, and looking forward to seeing you back at Amanzi when you're Mr and Mrs!

p.s. Mum's stilllllll talking about that gorgeous engagement ring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice room with great view to the lagoon even out of the bath!
Breakfast was delicious and the whole atmosphere very relaxed!
Two showers in front of each other was also a plus!
Good advice for dinner and lunch..
only minus point was the cleanliness of the shower, fungi at ceiling and edges, but I guess they will fix it now. So the lodge is absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a very good lodge on a great location. We had a huge room with a large bathroom and big terrace. Breakfast is very good and the owners are really friendy and give good sightseeing and dinner recommendations. The island is safe at night.

Room Tip: We had one of the superior lagoon facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenBennett, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Amanzi and the quirky luxury of the room with two bathrooms! Yep - Leisure Isle is special and walking around at night without a care in the world is a treat. We hope to see you again on your next trip to SA:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, had a lovely room with balcony overlooking lagoon with 2 bathrooms.Huge bed and great view, loads of towels and space.
Margaret sorted us out everyday , huge breakfast, loads of chats.
Loved it !!!

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyfive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $136 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing