We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing amanzi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #8 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing amanzi”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This review is loooong overdue... We returned to Amanzi for our one year anniversary in Sept 2010 (after having been there for our honeymoon) and it was jus as we remembered... FANTASTIC.

Yes, Leisure Isle is away from the hustle, but that is part of why we love it so much. You HAVE to go for room 3 (OUR room :), it has two bathrooms and an amazing view from your own veranda! The service is personal, efficient but not overbearing. We ooved the honesty bar. My wife was also on a strict diet at the time and the staff went out of their way to accommodate her.

We wish we could stay forever. Helen, we miss you!

Best wishes
Martin and Jeanique Koeleman

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
376
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had 3 nts here during 16 day trip and this was our favourite guest house. Cathy and Simon are excellent hosts. We were in room 5 which was light and airy, well furnished and had good views over the lagoon even though it was at the side of the house. Breafast was excellent. Cathy made dinner reservations for us each night and her recommendations were first class.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has side views over the lagoon. If we return we would still go for that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I’ve choosen this lodge because of the several positive rewies on Trip Advisor and I had high hopes, but…
The guest house is located on Leisure Island, undoubtedly a wonderful place.
I had a spacious downstairs room facing the lagoon and the view was beautiful but … that’s it!
Infact the room smelled like it had been closed for a long time and the bathroom was very tiny.
Overall, the real rating is something between very good and average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon and Cathy W, Owner at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are really sorry that you were disappointed. As you are probably aware, our standard lagoon facing room (situated downstairs) , is the best price room in the house, and is one of only two lagoon facing rooms that can take an extra bed as required for a family sharing. (Our upstairs superior rooms do not take extra beds) In the quieter winter months, those downstairs rooms do not receive as much sun as our other rooms do, something which is of ongoing concern to us, but somewhat out of our control! For this reason they are in fact often not used at this time, as whenever possible, we upgrade our guests to one of the other rooms. It was a pity that the night you were with us we were not able to do that for you as the other rooms were all occupied.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again and enjoy the rest of Amanzi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I visited in late August 2012, had a wonderful experience here and are anxious to return at the first opportunity. Simon and Cathy are excellent hosts and will offer as much or as little local advice as you'd like. Their property is perfectly situated on Leisure Isle overlooking Knysna estuary and the Knysna heads, with plenty of on-site parking. The view is world-class and the room decor tasteful and well maintained. This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy warm hospitality surrounded by natural beauty. Highly recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper floor ocean view rooms, The view is awesome and the balcony is great to sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited this guest house for 3 nights in February. The location on Leisure Island overlooking the lagoon is breathtaking!
We booked a superior first floor bedroom with balcony and side view of the lagoon which reminded us of "new england decor".
Our hosts Simon and Cathy were very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble including jump leads for a flat battery on our hire car on the day of departure!

The lounge area was comfortable with a small bar and an honesty box to log your drinks.
The breakfasts were well prepared including choice of cereals, fresh juices and items cooked to order.
Cathy booked us Tides Restaurant which is on the isle and about 10 mintues walk. Do not miss eating here as the meals are unforgetable although you have to accept the eccentricities of Michael the Chef/Proprietor who we understand occasionally is flown to the famous Mount Nelson hotel in Cape Town for special functions.
The East Head cafe is also worth a visit for morning coffee/lunch.

The stay was memorable after the bustle of Cape Town and provides visitors with old fashioned
courtersy and excellent service.

Room Tip: A first floor room with a lagoon view is recommded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

All i can say is we are busy planning how soon we can get back - what a beautiful guest house in a beautiful location run by wonderful people in Simon and Cathy. Fabulous.
This is a great base for visiting attractions and sites beyond Kynsna but also just a wonderful place to enjoy the scenary and hospitality.
Simon and Cathy were vert attentive and very helpful and we would highly recommend staying with them.
Thank you for looking after us - Kathy and David.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Amanzi lodge is an exceptional place with exceptional owners, Cathy and Simon. The location is stunning overlooking the lagoon and the rooms are furnished to a very high standard with great views. Cathy and Simon are charming hosts and will always make time to help you plan your day or make arrangements for you. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them. There is absolutely nothing I can fault about Amanzi at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon and Cathy W, Manager at Amanzi Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
So glad that you were with us for this leg of your holiday! Hope you are both well, and we look forward to your next less eventful visit! Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#2 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Property: Amanzi Island Lodge
Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing