We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. James of Knysna
Nearby Hotels
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hide Away Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$53
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$144
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$40
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
346
83
20
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
83
20
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady annerex suitespacious suitegarden routepublic roomsfabulous hotelcar washoverlooking the lakecountry housebreakfast and dinnergarden roomwaters edgesitting areathe main houselovely spotsun loungersmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 464 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2010

What a exclusive place to stay . We had 3 nights booked ( 4 of us ) at St James on our arrival we were welcomed by Sandy ,our rooms had been up graded we couldn't believe it the rooms were so large huge bathroom plus a separate sitting room it was beautiful.If you want a bit of luxury this is the place for you.Food & service was great you didn't need to eat again till the evening after the breakfast!! Gardens & the views were magnificent unfortunatly we couldn't take advantage of the pool or sunbeds, the weather wasn't very good while we were at Knysna.Everyone at St James were very friendly & helpful we really enjoyed our stay with them.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fossieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer.

On arrival (earlier than the normal check in time) we were welcomed by very friendly staff and offered a glass of champagne while we waited for our room. We were upgraded to a fantastic, spacious suite with a view over the lagoon.

The hotel is very relaxed and the staff are attentive without being overly so.

The only criticism I have is that the food wasn't quite up to the standard I would have expected but this didn't spoil our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Bumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our second trip to Knysna, last time we stayed at Pezula but ST James is ten times better, great rooms overlooking the Lagoon, friendly staff and great food in the restaurant - real value for money a pleasure to stay and to look forward to return to, only 5 mins from the town and they even offer a trnafer to restauants in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Upon checking in, my sister and I were informed that we'd been upgraded to the "Rex Rooms" (presidential suite). It was lovely, spacious, with marble bathroom, long balcony overlooking the lagoon, large flat screen TV, and sitting room. The view was fabulous. The dining room had a fireplace, which was really nice since it was cold weather, and the food was fantastic. We enjoyed a pasta entree with spinach, bacon and grilled Camembert cheese, so much that we both ordered it again. The wines were excellent and they do pour a generous glass. Staff were very helpful in booking our day trips to Knysna Elephant Park and Plettenberg Bay whale watching cruise and Featherbed Island Eco-cruise (all highly recommended). The only thing that could have made our stay even better, was if it had been warmer weather, so we could swim in the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SparkleAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is a well-appointed property, nicely located at the edge of the lagoon with views to Knysna and The Heads.
There is a range of rooms/ suites available, many very large. We had an extremely comfortable 3-day stay.
The restaurant is very good, with interesting dishes, well prepared and presented, and reasonably priced. Service is friendly but can occasionally be a bit slow - the bottleneck would appear to be the kitchen, even at breakfast time. There is a good bar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews