We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel is in front of Knysna' lake, thus the views from our room were amazing. Service was also a positive highlight during our stay, as well as the size of the room, enormous. Even the price was excellent, we leave the hotel without any negative comments, our stay was lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

One of the best locations in Knysna, on the lagoon. Value for money indeed.

Rooms are spacious. Great service. Great breakfast.

Even washed my car. That is a first for me :)

Staff are very friendly. Will return

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalilaleker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Many thanks to all at St. James of Knysna for making our stay so pleasurable. Beautiful setting, very friendly and attentive staff and superb food. We were given a room upgrade, which was an added bonus and topped off a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Super accommodation, booking from abroad can sometimes give rise for concern when you arrive in a country but no need when booking at St James. Everything was customer focused with wonderful location by the lagoon and even the hire car was washed, all part of the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gra26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

the hotel, I rated it very good, but when we check out, we stay 3 days short,
the hotel general manager, Ms. Cindy was not happy and she asked me to
talked with booking agent and the agent is no problem about we stay 3 days
short and hotel general manager want us to pay extra for my daughter. I paid. then the hotel covered the 3 days hotel from my child payment. When I book the hotel room, they did not charge for the children under 12 years old,
my daughter is 10 years old.



  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jianping D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a great stay in a very comfortable and service-minded guesthouse. The upgrated room was of a very large size with all comfort. The pool and the garden are really fantastic, the position directly on the watersite is great. The food-quality in the Restaurant was of a very high Level. The Management and the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We've read that the lagoon was pretty but this hotel is on such a lovely spot that the beauty still surprises. The room we had was lovely with a nice view of the lagoon. Also the service in bar and restaurant were great. We would certainly go back if we wanted to stay another night in Knysna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $129 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing