We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb colonial retreat on the shore of the Knysna lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superb colonial retreat on the shore of the Knysna lagoon”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed in the courtyard suite which was huge - a massive lounge area, bigger bedroom & even bigger bathroom! Great views of the lagoon & we could step straight out onto the lawns to get to the jetty.

The bar area is alos huge but feels cosy - big log fires in the colder evenings make a welcome change.

The restaurant is excellent - well worth trying despite the massive choice available in Knysna. Breakfast is also excellent. During dinner the staff lit a real fire in our room - a great touch to return to.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who made us feel very welcome. Car washing overnight was a nice suprise also.

  • Liked — Style, service, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    75
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
304
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to pick this hotel for Knysna. Not a bad choice at all! Very great breakfast selection, nice staff. Great location also on the lake, but a bit out of town, so a car is needed if you want to go out for dinner. Absolutely nice rooms (and big, very big!) I gave it 4 stars as apposed to 5, because after reading all the wonderful reviews; the picture in my head up front was slightly different. It felt a bit "old fashioned", but that could have been because we were a bit out of season and the other guests seemed a bit older then we are (and the decoration is also not very modern) But anyway. Nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Liked — The view from the window and the breakfast
  • Disliked — bit old fashioned
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Nice location, by a lake; beautiful hotel, great suite, fantastic service. The bar is outstanding.
It is an ideal place to stay and relax while enjoying the Knysna area.

  • Liked — The suite is excellent
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UramSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
entre rios
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed there 3 nigths during our honeymoon. It was for sure one of the bests hotels we´ve ever been.
Rooms are fantastic! Big and comfortable with luxury details (example: the bathroom´s floor can be warmed up). Decoration is very quiet and nice, coloured in green and withe. It has 2 tv, dinning table (and coffe/tea facilities), balcon (don´t know the word in english! sorry), and a king sized bed.
The hotel is very well located in a quiet area not far from downtown and the waterfront (where best restaurants are situated).
If I have ever the chance to go to Knysna again... then I´m sure I´ll book St. James!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not complain!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maviven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We looked in Trip Advisor before booking and are so glad we did. This was the nicest hotel we have stayed at, ever. That covers over 30 years of travelling. It was rather like staying with close family.

Aside from the 7* service, the property itself is located in a beautiful secure location on the outskirts of Knysna. If you aren't driving, they will take you into town and back for a few dollars. Manicured grounds and fishing/canoes available free of charge.

Exceptional breakfasts served overlooking the lagoon, out on the patio if you prefer, we dined in twice, candlelit with a high standard of cuisine/service.

The suite we enjoyed was outstanding, spacious and well equipped with underfloor heating in the bathroom and heated towel rail. Full turn down service with fresh towels, they came when we were at dinner, no door knocking/disturbance.

A free to use internet PC in the guest lounge area was also helpful. Our car was washed every day (a tip was appropriate and appreciated).

We stayed four nights and were sorry to leave.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chacann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed in St James's in Knsya in March 2008, and had a terrific stay. It is located just outside of Knsyna. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable with TV, shower, bath. The rooms are very well serviced, the staff are lovely and the food is fantatstic!
If you have a car there is room for parking and they wash your car every morning. We found the concierage very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and what to do in Knysna and around.
Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed here for four nights in late February what a superb place. We had a wonderful suite facing the lagoon, it was breathtaking. Our own lounge with comfy settees and a dining table plus TV, a large bedroom with patio doors looking out to the lagoon plus another TV and a beautiful bathroom. This is the place to feel special, the staff, the ambience everything makes you feel pampered. You are a short car ride to the Knysna Quays with some super restaurants ( try the Drydock). Its also in an ideal location to visit the surrounding area eg; the forest, Brenton on Sea, Plattenberg Bay etc.
If you want to feel spoilt this is the one.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing