We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. James of Knysna
Nearby Hotels
$181
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$141
$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$65
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
346
83
20
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
83
20
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady annerex suitespacious suitegarden routepublic roomsfabulous hotelcar washoverlooking the lakecountry housebreakfast and dinnergarden roomwaters edgesitting areathe main houselovely spotsun loungersmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 464 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Location, service, accommodation were excellent. Price for the accommodation was exceptionally reasonable. Only gripe: as vegetarians, restaurant menu options were limited but food prices were very high. Restaurant was more than willing to accommodate our meal needs but prices stayed as for non-vegetarian dishes. Being right on the lagoon was stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We unfortunately only stayed a night. The hotel has a lovely setting on the Knysna lake with a magnificent view. The food was delicious although the staff at the dinner required some more training. If we travel to Knysna again, we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugo2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came here by car and should only stay one night. We had a very beautiful room only meters from the edge of the water. It was a suite (they upgrated us). Our bathroom was hudge with the biggest shower ever seen. The staff was very kind and was helping us. One of the staff found out in the morning that we had a flat tire and was changing it with a big smile. It's a very good place to relax if you stay for several days. We had a plan where we rented a car for a week and in some places only stayed one night. We really liked it here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

St James on Knsyna is a beautiful hotel on the Knsyna Lagoon. We had a great stay with excellent service. Breakfast was good and Dinner was good(mixed review, starters and dessert were great, mains were average)

Room Tip: Go for a Lagoon facing room, View is amazing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_g_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beautiful scenery, excellent service, clean rooms and worthwhile amenities. We woke up to see all the cars being washed! The staff really go out of their way to do what they can for you. Highly recommended. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imanhaffajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews