We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. James of Knysna
Nearby Hotels
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hide Away Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$53
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$144
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$40
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
346
83
20
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
83
20
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady annerex suitespacious suitegarden routepublic roomsfabulous hotelcar washoverlooking the lakecountry housebreakfast and dinnergarden roomwaters edgesitting areathe main houselovely spotsun loungersmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 464 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overlooking the Lagoon with outstanding views from your room. The staff were excellent looking after every need. As we were the only guests on one evening meal they set up a table overlooking the logoon - how romantic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautifully and classically appointed. For example, Gabrielle DeJongh artwork in the lounge. Roaring fire place as we sat and dined during a charming and delicious dinner. Turn down service with chocolates! Bottled water and turning on the electric blankets.

I do not want to leave. Great view of the Heads.

Room Tip: Water facing
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLandrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at St James of Knysna hotel for two nights and have had a most wonderful stay. We were welcomed from our car and sheltered from the rain. We were greeted and shown around the hotel and to our room. We stayed in room 5 and I would recommend this room as it is huge with a separate lounge area, a big bedroom with duel aspect windows / patio doors looking out onto the lagoon and a massive bathroom which is call the 'rainforest room' as the shower is a walk in shower with glass separating it from a planting area like a rainforest.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. We received personal service for dinner last night as there aren't many guests at the moment (probably due to the weather). The food was well prepared, very tasty and presented well and the service was impeccable. Breakfast was also very good quality with good service.

There is a nice relazing bar area, currently with an open fire as it is quite cold. There is also another lounge around and an upper level where you can relax and look over the lagoon. It also has a computer here.

The grounds are lovely with great views over the lagoon and are well kept. There are also two swimming pools and plenty of outside tables and chairs but unfortunately we could not use them as the weather isnt very good.

The only negative thing I could say about this hotel is that I would have liked a heater in the bathroom but it is unusually cold here at the moment, so normally there would not be a need for it.

I think this is the best hotel I have stayed in and certainly has great service with the staff paying attention to many details. I would recommend this hotel, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lovely colonial style hotel in beautiful location. staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. Only 5 mins in a taxi to Knysna waterfront where there is a good choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is excellent and very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our garden route journey. The hotel's location makes it one of the most desirable in Knysna. Right on the lagoon and away from the town's hussle and bustle but still only a 5 minute drive away from the restaurants and shops.

We had one of the suites which was lovely with a separate living room, bedroom and balcony area. The staff were very friendly, greeting you as you came and went. They even washed our car for us every evening free of charge and without having to ask!

The food served at breakfast and dinner was of very good quality. This is a small hotel and on 2 days we were the only guests there. This meant that we were waited on hand and foot, but also that the restaurant lacked any atmosphere and felt quite formal. However if you are after an intimate hotel then the St James comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews