We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overmeer Guest House
Ranked #28 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

When we booked our three nights at the Overmeer GuestHouse, we knew it was going to be nice, but we had no idea that our stay would exceed all expectations.Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. We had a huge terrace with a fantastic view over the lagoon and enjoyed the sunsets from there. The owners, Ludwig and Riette, but also their staff Rudolf are very friendly and helpful. It felt like we were in Knysna visiting friends.The neighbourhood is safe. If you're travelling by car, you won't need to worry about where to park, as the Overmeer offers enough car parks on their property. Unfortunately it was still too cold (early Spring in SA) for us to enjoy the pool. We're sure Guests will like it in the SA-Summer months. We made use of the laundry service, which was (a) very cheap and (b) very fast and (c) very good. We paid ZAR 100,- for a huge basket of laundry (you pay per basket). The basket size was about (height x width) 50cm x 50cm. Fast = you give the basket to the reception by 10am... you get your dry, ironed and folded laundry back on the same day in the afternoon. Knysna is a very lovely place. We enjoyed it a lot, especially the sunset over the lagoon. BUT, having said that we must admit that we "caught ourselves" looking forward to going back to the Overmeer to spend the rest of the evening on our terrace. This says a lot about the Overmeer GuestHouse. Thank you for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located at the top of the hill, overlooking the Knysna Lagune with excellent views!
Spacious and luxury rooms. Friendly staff helping you with everything, including a shuttle service to the waterfront area in Knysna.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast, beautiful lagoon views. Overmeer was just what we needed - quiet and peaceful. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Lovely place, tasty breakfast, friendly staff, great views, REALLY comfortable beds & a spa bath too !!
As a couple we were really surprised and pleased to find this peaceful B&B tucked up on the hill in knysna, overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonhard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

On my business travels I've stayed in many establishments and at Overmeer I have found the place I will always go back when in Knysna. Ever since my first stay here 3 years ago I have returned on a monthly basis. I travel alone and really miss home when I stay in impersonal hotels, but at Overmeer I am always welcomed with a smile and a friendly chat by both owner and staff. Over the years I have noticed regular upgrades to the rooms which are already so spacious, comfortable and well fitted. Excellent rooms, professional and friendly service, magnificent views all add up to make Overmeer a place that I will keep going back to.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GavinJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We enjoyed our recent two night stay at the Overmeer. We were part of a small group traveling the Garden Route with Southern Eagle Tours. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious, breakfast very good and all staff very accomodating. It was raining so hard one evening that we decided to buy a take away dinner and eat it in the room. One of the staff members was kind enough to reheat it for us and bring it back to our room. The only thing missing was sunshine. The room had a lovely balcony and georgeous view but unfortunately we never had the chance to enjoy it. On a nice evening, I can't think of a nicer place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Great experience, friendly staff and attention to detail makes the stay and trip extarordinary. Room setup was perfect. Breakfast was well served. We asked for early start and they agreed immediately. When we asked for information on nearby attraction, they provided complete information and also suggested alternatives.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unique-travel-411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
3.5 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 111 in Knysna
371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $74 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing