We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overmeer Guest House
Ranked #34 of 125 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast, beautiful lagoon views. Overmeer was just what we needed - quiet and peaceful. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    99
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
68
149
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Lovely place, tasty breakfast, friendly staff, great views, REALLY comfortable beds & a spa bath too !!
As a couple we were really surprised and pleased to find this peaceful B&B tucked up on the hill in knysna, overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonhard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

On my business travels I've stayed in many establishments and at Overmeer I have found the place I will always go back when in Knysna. Ever since my first stay here 3 years ago I have returned on a monthly basis. I travel alone and really miss home when I stay in impersonal hotels, but at Overmeer I am always welcomed with a smile and a friendly chat by both owner and staff. Over the years I have noticed regular upgrades to the rooms which are already so spacious, comfortable and well fitted. Excellent rooms, professional and friendly service, magnificent views all add up to make Overmeer a place that I will keep going back to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

We enjoyed our recent two night stay at the Overmeer. We were part of a small group traveling the Garden Route with Southern Eagle Tours. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious, breakfast very good and all staff very accomodating. It was raining so hard one evening that we decided to buy a take away dinner and eat it in the room. One of the staff members was kind enough to reheat it for us and bring it back to our room. The only thing missing was sunshine. The room had a lovely balcony and georgeous view but unfortunately we never had the chance to enjoy it. On a nice evening, I can't think of a nicer place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Great experience, friendly staff and attention to detail makes the stay and trip extarordinary. Room setup was perfect. Breakfast was well served. We asked for early start and they agreed immediately. When we asked for information on nearby attraction, they provided complete information and also suggested alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unique-travel-411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

I would have to agree with the more negative reviews about the Overmeer. Apart from the view,
- the service was extremely patchy (I had exactly the same experience about the breakfast:: what's the point of asking a guest about a cooked breakfast 20 minutes after sitting. Obviously the Overmeer wasn't very keen to offer a full English breakfast otherwise they would ask the question at the same time as enquiring whether tea or coffee!)
- decor of the room is very dated and the whole place is more reminiscent of a middle of the road motel rather than 5 star accommodation
- really expensive given the poor service and general condition of the hotel
Regretted having booked 3 nights at the Overmeer the second I stepped in!!! (greasy Kitchen smell in the reception area and the dog part of the welcome committee didn't help either). Not worth its 5 stars and the price charged

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephan_surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

The hosts and staff are so helpfull and friendly.
The location is the best, overlooking the lagoon from your private balcony.
Breakfast was very nice and tastefull.
So lucky we did find the very nice place in Knysna.
Rooms are very spacious and everything is there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimt789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 125 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#13 of 125 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
#66 of 125 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#8 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#9 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Property: Overmeer Guest House
Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing