We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel on lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon
Ranked #69 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Lovely hotel with wonderful views across the lagoon. V small swimming pool - too cold to use, even after hot day. Good base to explore the area as close to main road but very peaceful and quiet as well. Excellent host whose staff all very friendly and keen to help. Many useful suggestions made for places to visit and eat nearby. Plesant rooms with huge bathroom (at least in our room) with good quality beds and adequate facilities, although some may need a little upgrading (like TV). Free wi-fi. Good breakfasts.

Room Tip: Our room was known as the honeymoon suite which was situated overlooking the lagoon and had 2 sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay here.not so far from attractions,good rooms and beautiful scenery

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelwrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you are ever in Knysna...do stay here!!
Beautiful setting right on the edge of the lagoon which gives off a cooling breeze whilst sunbathing especially if you are like myself who cannot stand too much sun.
The garden is lovely...with a pond where four large birds came to drink several times a day.

The decor of the rooms very nice,complete with sofas and terraces.There is also a self-catering unit if you prefer to do your "own thing".

Nothing is too much trouble for the owner should you require any help at all...he makes everyone feel special..

Please stay here...well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had a great stay at Point Lodge where RYK and Charles made sure that we enjoyed every single day we were there. We booked a normal room but when they heard we were on honeymoon they moved us to the honeymoon suite for no charge. RYK gave us enough space when we needed it and helped when we needed it. The room was beautiful as well as the bathroom which was a circular room with a old Victorian bath and a large shower.

The room was cleaned everyday when we went out and the breakfast every morning was delicious and the cutlery and decorations were set expertly. RYK personally goes out each morning to pick flowers from his gardens to set the mood.

The swimming pool was clean and the view was incredible as it looked out over the lagoon.

Thank you for a great service and stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it and I can recommend it to anyone going to Knysna.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Four of us (2 couples) spent 3 nights here and would highly recommend it. The location was lovely overlooking the lagoon and easy to get in to town (30 minute walk). Everyone very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, maybe could do with a bit of updating - our shower tray was blocked but was very swiftly fixed. Great breakfasts with a great view. Pool looked good but weather not warm enough to try! Lovely garden and plenty of furnture to relax in the garden

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The accomodations were perfect for us - 2 room suite. Excellent breakfast. Great value.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which is nicely entered through the garden. You have an amazing view over the lagoon, the room is a good size with a two seater sofa, coffee table, fireplace and en-suite. The bathroom with a free-standing bath tub, shower and vanity unit is lovingly decorated.

The Lodge is about 1.5 km away from the marina - you can't walk to the marina but parking spaces are provided.

The breakfast buffet is basic but the owners take great care of you and will offer a cooked breakfast to your preferences.

It's good value for money and we were very happy with our suite

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpediem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
850 reviews
19.7 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.9 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon

Address: 2km West of Knysna (off N2) | PO Box 767, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $67 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated right at the water's edge of the Knysna lagoon, Point Lodge is the perfect base for your Garden Route escape! Personally managed by the owners for ten years, Ryk & Amanda Cloete have a wealth of local knowledge to offer. This is the ideal place for you to relax in comfortable rooms, swim in the cool pool and enjoy a superb English breakfast overlooking the tranquil lagoon. Once experienced, you shall return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing