We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and personal service”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #36 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly and personal service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. Derek looked after us well and provided good information about the area. Much better than the standard impersonal hotel environment, it's great to chat to fellow guests in this small friendly guest house - breakfasts are superb!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank swindphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Its very clean and good for a stay overnight. (come late and go early) Every room face the entry, like a Motel without cars. Nothing for a longer stay. People are friendly and a good breakfast. Quit in the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are sorry you found us only okay. We try to be the best in Knysna, we have stunning views and large comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice owner, supportive in helping organizing day trips. Room was very spacious only a little bit of noise due to the fact that it is directly situated at a street. But as there are only a view vehicles driving not at all disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tjx2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very good place to stay in Knysna. We stayed there for 4 nights and it was excellent in all aspects, starting from breakfast to room cleanliness. One of the best place to to stay in Knysna. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenlo
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The beautifull room is in a house with 4 more rooms. The man of the house was very friendly and give many ideas to discover Knysna and the surroundings . The only thing you have to know is that a walk to the town is too far, ca 5 kilometer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottuln, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's a pity that we couldn't stay longer...
A nice place, wonderful view off the laguna, friendly welcome, cordial hosts and a delicious breakfast with the best omelet of South Africa.
We got useful advises for every day.
Thank you to Janet and Derek.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a very comfortable couple of nights. Very comfy bed, nice large bathroom, nice to have fridge in room. Breakfast extensive and delicious. We liked the location; quiet residential area, but only a few minutes drive to everything. Pool a bit chilly, but nicely positioned to get sun most of day. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Knysna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#9 of 103 in Knysna
87 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#45 of 126 in Knysna
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turning Tides B&B
Turning Tides B&B
#72 of 126 in Knysna
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Property: Amber Guest Lodge
Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing