We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #36 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chingola, Central, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 9 and right from the minute we booked the rooms Janet and Derek were so helpful and friendly. They offered numerous suggestions on things to do in the area, places to eat out, New Years eve party options and so on. Our room was lovely and despite the weather we had a really lovely time here :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiknaxZambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Couldn't have asked for anything nicer that Amber's - a very convenient, friendly, clean, modern place, wonderful hosts and a lovely breakfast by the pool. The room was great with everything you could ask for. Helpful advice on things to see, places to eat, directions etc. from Janet and Derek. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chattycathy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a lovely and wonderful stay with the family at Jant and Derek. We want to come back.
Our son was surprised about the Dog "Abbygaile". She was so friendly to the little man.

Nicole W.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My cycling party and I have again (second concurrent year) enjoyed the fabulous Amber Guest Lodge facilty in Knysna. Both Janet and Derek again hosted our "group booking" and were as always delightful hosts. From recommendations for dinner to welcome drinks - all was well received by the cycling mob.

They offer an excellent accommodation alternative with an EXCEPTIONAL BREAKFAST!!!
(all I might add at very competitive rates)

I can gladly recommend Amber Guest Lodge (Derek and Janet included) for family units, group holidays AND even business trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Couldn't ask for more. Janet and Derek were professional, yet very friendly and homely at the same time. The personal touches with breakfast made the experience very memorable and the overall value-for-money make it a definite stay next time we pass that way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roche de rame
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful family stay in your warm and friendly accomodation.
Hope we can come back one day and we will recommand your amber guest lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We as a family stayed at this wonderful lodge in August 2012 for 2 nights. It was a pleasure staying here and Janet and Derek were really very good host. They were very friendly and took care of all our questions pertaining to local attractions. The lodge was very well appointed and extremely clean, bathroom and bedrooms were spacious and bed very comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay at this lodge and would recommend to all family and friends. The breakfast spread was also very nice, fresh fruits, coffee, juice, local bread, jam, fresh eggs/omlette and cereals, lots of choice for adults as well as kids. My husband's coffee got cold as he went to our room to ran some errand, Janet was so very nice and immediately replaced with fresh cup even without requesting, that was very touching. We were really happy with everything about this properly. I can assure you, if you book this property you will not regret your stay. Good Luck to Janet and Derek.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#9 of 103 in Knysna
87 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#45 of 126 in Knysna
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turning Tides B&B
Turning Tides B&B
#72 of 126 in Knysna
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Property: Amber Guest Lodge
Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing