We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Special”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #36 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
“So Special”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a very special time spent with great friends and the service and overall experience was awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
93
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A few years ago, we stayed at Amber when it was run by Ted and Jean Leach - and it was great. It's now run by Janet and Derek Upsher. We went back and stayed 3 night in August 2012 - and the good news is, it's still great! If you are going to stopover in Knysna, you won't find better. We travel to South Africa frequently, and will certainly go back ourselves.

Room Tip: Go for the executive suite if it's free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Terence, glad you still enjoy Amber Guest Lodge. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed one night here in delightful accommodation. Knysna is just spectacular and Janet and Derek are keen to make sure you know the best places to go. They are very helpful hosts and told us how to get to the lookout over the entrance heads...stunning at sunset! They were extremely helpful when one of us left some clothing behind.
The breakfast was deliciousaswell...all aroun, it was a great stay...just not long enough.

Room Tip: Not right in the centre of town but spectacular views and lovely clean rooms with everything you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenyce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello Glenyce. I am glad that you and your sisters enjoyed our accommodation and that you received your jacket before you left. I hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this excellent guesthouse.
Perfect in every way! Such attention to detail. Dave and Janet are warm and friendly hosts who looked after us so well and we would love to return. Pity Ireland is so far away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodytoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us. You were a lot of fun. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at Amber Guest Lodge in December 2011. Highly recommend it. Great accommodation. Janet and Derek are a friendly couple who take great pride in offering a very personal service. And of course Knysna is beautiful. Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Manager at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful little bed and breakfast on a recent trip to South Afica.this is a wonderful little guest lodge about 10 minutes drive from Knysna waterfront.The owners are a lovely couple and the rooms at this B & B are lovely clean with cozy beds.
This B& B is situated in a residential area, very peaceful and quite. I would definitely recommend this B& B as the place to stay whenever one visits Knysna

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattyjazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our stay at Amber Guest Lodge was another example of the high quality accommodation we have found along the Garden Route. The house is situated in a quiet area, close to two golf courses with superb views across the lagoon. The room we had booked was not available and we were given a beautiful suite instead. The formalities were completed over a welcome cup of coffee when our host furnished information on what we could do in Knysna, only ten minutes drive away. Breakfast was of a high standard and included freshly baked muffins! The only downside of our stay was that it wasn't longer. We would definitely stay at Amber Guest Lodge again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Knysna.
Best Wishes, Anne and Alistair from Ramsgate, England.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
528 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#43 of 126 in Knysna
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
621 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Islander Knysna
The Islander Knysna
#26 of 126 in Knysna
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Isola Bella
Isola Bella
#63 of 126 in Knysna
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Property: Amber Guest Lodge
Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing