We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful accommodation”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #39 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed one night here in delightful accommodation. Knysna is just spectacular and Janet and Derek are keen to make sure you know the best places to go. They are very helpful hosts and told us how to get to the lookout over the entrance heads...stunning at sunset! They were extremely helpful when one of us left some clothing behind.
The breakfast was deliciousaswell...all aroun, it was a great stay...just not long enough.

Room Tip: Not right in the centre of town but spectacular views and lovely clean rooms with everything you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenyce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hello Glenyce. I am glad that you and your sisters enjoyed our accommodation and that you received your jacket before you left. I hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this excellent guesthouse.
Perfect in every way! Such attention to detail. Dave and Janet are warm and friendly hosts who looked after us so well and we would love to return. Pity Ireland is so far away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodytoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us. You were a lot of fun. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at Amber Guest Lodge in December 2011. Highly recommend it. Great accommodation. Janet and Derek are a friendly couple who take great pride in offering a very personal service. And of course Knysna is beautiful. Great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Manager at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful little bed and breakfast on a recent trip to South Afica.this is a wonderful little guest lodge about 10 minutes drive from Knysna waterfront.The owners are a lovely couple and the rooms at this B & B are lovely clean with cozy beds.
This B& B is situated in a residential area, very peaceful and quite. I would definitely recommend this B& B as the place to stay whenever one visits Knysna

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattyjazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our stay at Amber Guest Lodge was another example of the high quality accommodation we have found along the Garden Route. The house is situated in a quiet area, close to two golf courses with superb views across the lagoon. The room we had booked was not available and we were given a beautiful suite instead. The formalities were completed over a welcome cup of coffee when our host furnished information on what we could do in Knysna, only ten minutes drive away. Breakfast was of a high standard and included freshly baked muffins! The only downside of our stay was that it wasn't longer. We would definitely stay at Amber Guest Lodge again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Knysna.
Best Wishes, Anne and Alistair from Ramsgate, England.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to do a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

After visiting Addo ENP, Knysna is in my opinion the first stop back to CPT. So we did and stayed in Amber. We enyoed our stay there and Amber is quiet flexible. By chance my parents and sister were near Knysna and also stayed in Amber. Janet made the family room ready in no time and we had our little familiy get together. If you want to relax and sleep in a quiet environment this is the place to be. We only stayed for one night due to lack of time but I would definitly suiggest to stay 2-3 days...

Room Tip: Ask for it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We try to be flexible when we can but bear in mind that December and January is peak season for us so early booking for those months is advised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Rooms are very clean ; we enjoy our experience in amber guest lodge. Spotless guest lodge close to the Heads with beautiful views. Breakfast was delicious with homemade muffins !The location is perfect, it 10 minutes driving from the downtown and overlooking to the lagoon

I dont have much to say about this great place .. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
TwoAngels Guest House
TwoAngels Guest House
#8 of 107 in Knysna
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#12 of 127 in Knysna
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $61 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing