We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most definitely a comfortable stay”
Review of Yellowwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowwood Lodge
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Yellowwood Lodge is a place very much at the heart of knysna. It was close enough for us to allow our older kidz to go about and do their own thing whilst at the same time us having peace of mind that they were safe. We were minutes from the beach and had the best climate possible. We enjoyed the lagoon and ocean very much and the B&B was truly close to everything. The breakfasts on the verandah were beautiful and the views spectacular. It was a place we all enjoyed. We found adventure, fun and relaxation with the kidz all in one. Truly a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donaldsonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Yellowwood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2009

We enjoyed two nights here. Ernest was charming and made us most welcome. Our room had delightful views across Knysna Lagoon. Very central to walk into Knysna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Yellowwood Lodge is pleasant enough, but very much has the atmosphere of a 70s B&B in Blackpool or Torquay. The reception we had was friendly enough and the rooms were reasonably comfortable, but the accommodation felt quite dated and was not somewhere to spend too much time. Particularly off-putting was the ancient combination gas boiler in the bathroom, which seemed to supply the hot water for the bath and shower.

The town centre and the quays are within easy walking distance and indeed Knysna is pretty safe such that a walk to the quays is a realistic proposition.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but like most other things here perfectly adequate.

Not a highlight of our stay, but equally nothing intrinsically wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

we have often gone to south africa to visit family, and visiting knysna is our little treat. we love the lagoon and the vibrant vibe of the town. Yellowwood lodge has been our usual spot. the comfort of having a place walking distance from town and with such a loving family running the place simply does it for us. we have enjoyed our time at the pool and on the veranda overlooking the most gorgeous view of the town and lagoon. the rooms are spacious and delightful.so far we have never stayed in the same room and can tell you that each one is different, with its own little charm. we are looking forward to our next visit this april. thanx anna and ernest for making our holidays that much more enjoyable

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank suefernandez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

The last December my husband and I stayed in the Yellowwood Lodge for three nights . We stayed in a double room with balcony . The bathroom had a bath and a shower , they service the room everyday and they also changed towels everyday . The room had a kettle , fridge, glasses , tea cups . The lagoon could be seen from the balcony . We had a delicious breakfast in the garden . Very friendly and helpful staff . And smething that was very convinient for us , we could wa;k to town and the waterfront
We had our laundry done on the same day

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jenny073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed here late last year (06/07) for four nights and were given the top room in the property at the front of the house. The views of the heads and lagoon were spectacular, and although the property was in need of some updating, it's location to the town centre was what we were after.

This year we returned again, and we couldn't help but notice how much more tired the house/rooms were and the garden was a bit unkempt. We had my parents with us, and they found negotiating the foot paths a bit tricky, especially when wet or at night. Breakfast was average, the fresh fruit was not very good and some of the fruit provided was tinned!! We felt that no further investment was being made by the current owners and they were just keeping it 'ticking over'. Also it was our first experience of a B&B/Guest House that did not have resident 'owners/managers'. So each night they would pack up and go. If there was an emergency, there wasn't anyone on site and you had to phone a mobile number.

Again we were on the top floor at the front of the house. I couldn't help but think this time, how would we escape in case of fire. There was no clear route except jumping from the first floor windows. The bathroom suite has to be at least 20+ years old. This is an average to below average guest house and not what we have come to expect from Guest Houses in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We stayed at the Yellowwood Lodge in the separate unit which was perfect for our family of 4. Although I have to admit that on very close inspection, there was some dampness in the floorboards of the bathroom and around the windows, we were happy with our room. The tiles in the actual shower/bathtub stall are a bit crooked but clean. We were provided with clean towels every day and our room was cleaned every day. I would describe the room as slightly rustic but beautiful. The main door did not fit flush to the house and there probably could be some insects that could fit through the 1/4 inch gap but we never saw anything bigger than a tiny spider. There was a separate room for our children, ages 8 and 11 which had a television , sink, fridge, and kettle but this room was only divided by a heavy curtain. The bay can be seen from here if you look really hard through the beautiful trees and foliage. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was lovely, and we loved having the extra space this particular room provided as opposed to all of us being squashed in one room in the main building. We stayed there for 4 nights. There is a pool, and a lovely garden area. We had 2 large loads of laundry done here for us and it came back clean and ironed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ldove-gmx.net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#15 of 30 in Knysna
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.5 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowwood Lodge

Address: 18 Handel Street | PO Box 2020, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $59 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowwood Lodge is an exclusive accommodation establishment in Knysna in the heart of South Africa’s world famous Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Yellowwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowwood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing