We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct rooms, but no view”
Review of Yellowwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowwood Lodge
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very good rooms, maybe a bit dated, but overall nice. Pity that construction of a garage was allowed in front of the lodge, otherwise the views would have been great. Excellent breakfast. A small hick up with a power breakdown, was generously compensated by the owner, without us asking for anything. Good value for money!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Yellowwood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent accommodation and breakfast. Beautifully kept house from early 20th century with a very well kept garden and well located within Knysna, five minutes from shopping mall and 15 minutes to the waterfront. We stayed in the cottage and all was clean and comfortable. The owner was attentive on any small detail and gave us excellenst suggestions about what to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nestor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in a double room in the garden annexe - clean, light & airy, comfortable etc. Staff welcoming and helpful, breakfasts very good. Our only disappointment was the view - we selected Yellowwood because of the advertised views over the lagoon. Within the last two months a neighbour has constructed a large steel shed (car sales showroom?)just across the road that completely blocks the view. Clearly nothing Yellowwood can do, what a shame for them, they deserve better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our family found the Yellowwood Lodge a very hospitable place. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and found the staff very attentive. We stayed in the family unit ( a charming cottage) outside of the main house. The unit had 2 rooms with 2 single beds and a reasonably sized double bed. The pool in the back was small but we made full use of it. The garden was beautiful and our breakfasts overlooking the Knysna Lagoon were more than pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We found our stay at the yellowwood lodge to be peaceful, comfortable and within a close proximity to the town's main features. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was generous. What we most enjoyed was having our breakfast on the verandah with its beautiful view as well as our time at the nearby beach. The staff were also very friendly and we felt safe on the premises. Overall a good weekend spent in knysna and will pop in again.

Room Tip: ask for a room outside the main house with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_annebrochart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I had a brief stay in Knysna whilst on business and I found the B&B to be clean and comfortable. The location was perfect as it is very close to town and the price reasonable. I would visit this place again both on business and leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagerphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The room's bed was of a pleasant size and we had a lovely balcony overlooking knysna's lagoon. The bathroom was simple; and although the shower/bath was one unit it was adequate and clean enough for my wife and I. The thing we most enjoyed about our stay was the filling breakfast we received the next morning and the location of the B&B. For all those wondering, the photos I am placing on the web are for the room we stayed in, no. 9 which is situated outside of the main house.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinsmith951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#15 of 30 in Knysna
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.5 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowwood Lodge

Address: 18 Handel Street | PO Box 2020, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowwood Lodge is an exclusive accommodation establishment in Knysna in the heart of South Africa’s world famous Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Yellowwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowwood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing