We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hide Away Guest House
Ranked #12 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We received a warm welcome from Colleen and Cecil after a long drive from Cape Town. They gave us good info on where to eat and were very helpful with booking reservations and taxi's. Our room was spacious and comfortable with spectacular views over the lagoon. The breakfast was good (pre-ordered the night before) and all in all I would say good value for money.

  • Liked — views from room
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    94
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
263
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

What made the Hide Away so outstanding for us were the hosts Colleen and Cecil. Our reception was wonderfully warm and friendly -- and this set the tone for the remainder of our two-night stay. They helped us plan some very pleasant excursions and helped us to arrange for some spectacular meals. Everything was just delightful.

  • Liked — The hosts and their friendliness.
  • Disliked — I disliked nothing.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We stayed in the hide away for one night. We had a very friendly welcome from Colleen and Cecil, who gave us complimentary welcome drinks and a realy good overview of the local area and places to visit (which they were happy to book on our behalf). The room was nicely decorated with a clean en-suite. We were given a room at the back of the guest house which didn't have a view over the lagoon but this was made clear to us before we booked, as we only arranged the stay a few hours before arrival. As the guest house was full for the next two nights and we originally requested three nights, Cecil kindly arranged for us to stay at another guest house just down the road.

Breakfast was served on the veranda overlooking Knysna lagoon and was good quality, choosing the night before what we wanted. The trees around the guest house also do a good job of blocking the traffic noise from the main road below, making it quite pleasant to sit outside in the evening.

The Hide Away is a little out of town (2kms) but Colleen organised for us to eat at Sirocco restaurant which has a complimentary transfer minibus to and from; the food there was great! Ideally though, you do need a car to get to and from the centre of town easily.

I would definitely recommend the hideaway guest house if you are looking to stay in Knysna.

  • Liked — Great Hospitality
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy_finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We appreciated the beautiful location above the lagoon, the spacious and nicely decorated rooms and veranda, the rich breakfast and last but not least the very professional hints on planning our further trip. We can highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Hospitality, Rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AstridNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We stayed in several hotels on our trip to SA and Hide Away was by far and away the best. From the welcome drink and hot towel, to all the recommendations and leaflets, Colin and Colleen did everything they could to help you make the most of your stay.
The room itself was really well decorated and very comfortable. Everything was clean and well kept and the views over the lagoon were incredible.
Breakfast was made to measure and delivered at the time and location you requested the night before.
I really couldn't fault this hotel, and it was exceptional value.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We loved our stay at the Hide Away Guest House in Knysna, South Africa. Colleen and Cecil where sincerely welcoming hosts and went out of their way to make us comfortable and at home. We particularly appreciated the trouble they went to to accommodate my 78 year old mother who travelled with us. The views from the bedrooms over-looking Knysna bay are magnificient. We hope to make a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Personal service.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank drnorm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed at the Hide Away guest house in August and I have to say that I haven't encountered as good service anywhere else I've stayed in the world.

Upon arrival Cecil and Colleen welcomed us with a cool drink and hot towels, fantastic after our long drive. The advice they gave while we were there was invaluable also, we really appreciated it.

We stayed in a room which had the swimming pool directly below and looked out over the Knysna lagoon, we had double doors which opened onto a terrace where, weather permitting, you could happily dine and/or chill out.

The guest house is conveniently situated on the main road, but set back enough from it that the noise of traffic wasn't a problem. We walked to the waterfront each evening and its a simple and short walk to experience the restaurants and lagoon cruises.

I would definitely recommend this place and also wish Cecil and Colleen all the best!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Room was a little cool during the Winter
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Property: Hide Away Guest House
Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing