We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hide Away Guest House
Ranked #12 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The local knowledge and the way we were made to feel at home was fantastic. Recommendations of things to do and restaurants were fabulous. Cannot wait to make our way back. Didn't realize until we were given a warm towel to wipe our face and hands on arrival that it was exactly what we needed! Such a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaPGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello Andrea

Thank you so much for taking the time out to do this review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in Knysna and that you are hopeful that you will return again in the future. It is great to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

Take care and all the best for the upcoming festivities!

Kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    94
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
263
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The house is beautiful, the hosts very pleasant, the rooms very charming. Get a room with the lagoona view, we ended up regreting we didnt. The breakfast is very nice as well. Highly recommended for a stay in Kysna.

Room Tip: lagooda view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir17ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely warm welcome from Coleen and Cecil who greeted us with hot towels, the offer of a cuppa and maps and recommendations at the ready. The room was beautiful, overlooking the lagoon, with all the touches of a high end hotel such as dressing gowns and a fully stocked (and cheap) mini bar. Breakfast was amazing, served on the verandah with stunning views and was absolutely delicious. We stayed 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. We'd definitely recommend and hope to be back one day soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had 4 lovely nights with Colleen and Cecil. We stayed in an executive room with lagoon view which was large and very comfortable, but the clincher was breakfast on the terrace outside the room with the fantastic view right down the lagoon to Knysna Heads. A wonderful way to start the day! Colleen was very helpful with suggestions and bookings. Although tucked away, we found the guesthouse easily and it was very convenient for town and getting out to restaurants, etc. As others have said, an easy walk to the nearest restaurants and also to the ferry for the Featherbed reserve.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lagoon view, as the outlook is stunning and refreshes you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyc768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello Tony & Mary

Thank you so much for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and chatting about your bread making project back in the UK. Please keep us posted as to developments.

We hope to see you back in South Africa some time in the future and hope that you will include us on your itinerary.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Colleen and Cecil are the perfect hosts very helpful and could not do enough to make our stay special. Beautiful spacious room which was clean and had every thing we needed, and the view overlooking the lagoon was fantastic.Short walk into town and the waterfront.

Room Tip: Room one where we stayed had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't rely of a Sat Nav to find this place, it wont, we spent ages trying to find it, but it was well worth it, the owners greet you with a welcome cup of tea and lots of knowledge about restaurants and will help to book trips, we took up a few of their recommentdations and were not disappointed, the room we had had a lovely view over the lagoon and the property is set high off the road, it was clean and comfortable we have breakfast on the veranda in the sun, the whole experience was wonderful, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with the veranda overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello there

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hide-Away Guest House.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in South Africa and look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna and Hide-Away in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one night at The Hide-Away and it was more than we expected from a B&B, as we often stay in the Knysna area and have been very disappointed before. Not this time. An easy 10 minute walk to the restaurant we ate at, and another two or three minutes to the waterfront, which has a bunch of restaurants. Breakfast was good, and I am sure that if you feel like something other than you have indicated on your "order" form from the night before, they will be more than willing to change it. A very satisfying experience, and we will definitely stay there again. Thanks to Colleen and Cecil for a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovethailandCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Good morning to you

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review us! We sincerely appreciate the comments and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Property: Hide Away Guest House
Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing